Frankfurt: Babies on the plane - Poking Around Europe 4.0 - CycleBlaze

August 30, 2017

Frankfurt: Babies on the plane

Today was a day when not much happened except a long flight and a long nap. The flight was smooth and uneventful. I had sprung for bulkhead seats...it is just so much more comfortable for Keith. The third seat had a Mom and a squirmy toddler in it. Oh boy. Well, you know how it goes. That wee fellow started the flight by crying in distress and I thought I might end the flight by beating my head on the bulkhead. But no, once aloft he turned his charm and big brown eyes my way and I was smitten. Then, bless him, he went to sleep for about five hours. I was a bit envious of that. By the end of the flight Daniel and I had bonded. He even sat in my lap. Cutest seat mate ever.

Arrival in Frankfurt was on time and uneventful. We had a wee bit of a scare when the bike boxes didn't show up for a VERY long time, but just as the baggage attendant started the paperwork thinking they couldn't possibly be that delayed they magically and happily came down the oversize chute. Who knows where they were in the meantime.

We checked in and had a blissful snooze. Then we assembled the bikes and went and had some dinner. We didn't take a single picture today! Riding starts tomorrow. The weather forecast is okay, clouds and about 20 degrees C. No rain in the forecast. If that holds that will mean four years in a row we have had a rain free start. Fingers crossed for that. We are ready to roll.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0