Burgundy overview - Three Seasons Around France: Spring - CycleBlaze

May 10, 2022

Burgundy overview

First off, to get a jump on those sticklers for detail out there: yes, we know this itinerary covers more than Burgundy; but it’s mostly Burgundy, plus some transitional yardage around the edges.  It just feels like a useful partitioning for describing the next chunk of the journey.

Furthermore, we know that the French don’t think of this as Burgundy anyway - it’s Bourgogne to them; so really we should call it that while we’re here too.  We won’t be doing that though, because I don’t think I could ever pronounce it correctly anyway and no one would know what we were talking about.  I’m feeling pretty pleased that I’m finally able to ask for a carafe d’eau in a restaurant without eliciting a blank stare, but Bourgogne is beyond the range of what I can hope to succeed with.

Anyway, whatever we call this chunk it looks like a very nice, relaxed ride.  We’re out of the high country for the coming weeks, and we have a pretty leisurely schedule lined up: 12 stops in 18 days - on average, we’ve got a layover for riding without luggage every other day.  On top of that, most of our travel days are pretty short, averaging around 30 miles a day.  It sounds wonderful.

But why should you believe any of this anyway?  This is the fourth preview we’ve presented for the tour, and the three previous ones were all destined for significant revisions.  Why not this time?

Well, anything’s possible of course; but we’re more confident about keeping to this plan than we usually are.  Why?  Because we have commitments!  As some of you know by now, we’ll have company for most of this time.  Susan Carpenter is steaming her way through central France for a meet-up with us in Bourge; and Suzanne and János will be driving over from their home near Munich to meet up with us there too.  After that, for roughly ten days the five of us will be traveling together and sharing meals nightly; so that should definitely help us to keep on track.  If you aren’t following them already, you should check in with Susan’s journal and Suzanne’s.  When we all meet up we plan to claim the record for the largest CycleBlaze meet-up ever on European soil!

Oh, wait.  I’m getting smug and have spoken too soon.  At dinner tonight the waiter looked confused when I asked for a carafe d’eau, and corrected me after I repeated it.  So Bourgogne is definitely out.  Maybe I’ll stick with ordering vin rouge, which always seems to get through.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 11
Susan CarpenterSee you soon - can hardly wait!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonWhat Susan said!
We just got our 4th Covid vaccinations and I had my bike tuned. Ready to go!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetI’m kind of envious of the meetup. Someday!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jen RahnLook forward to seeing you all together?

And will probably wish we were with youse, too.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsYou wouldn't have any way to know of course, but your travels along with Susan Carpenter, among others, have caused me to return to and once again view photo collections we've amassed on our various European tandem tours over the past two decades.

It's been a real pleasure and a treat to see your accounts of visiting places I too have seen; in some cases I can even envision you standing exactly where I stood to capture a particular photo.

Thanks for routing me back onto Memory Lane.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith KleinHi,

I guess I’ll see you all in a few days. You’ll be coming right through Gevrey, so maybe you can stop in. We’re about 15 km by bike from Dijon center and 500 meters from the gare in Gevrey, in the lower part of town. Or maybe we can meet for lunch in Beaune. Give it a think.

Cheers,

Keith
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Keith KleinYou’re right! Gevrey is right on route - the one Rocky and I have mapped out at least. I suspect either would work well for us all, but I’ll poll the troops and check back with you. We’d be passing through your town on the 20th (Friday), but lunch in Beaune would likely be the 19th. Preference either way?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith KleinHi,
Lunch in Beaune on Thursday, apéro at my house Friday. Send me your budget and dining preferences for restaurants and I’ll make reservations for thur. Use my e-mail address.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
ann and steve maher-wearyThis is so exciting ! What a great idea! Have a wonderful week. We will be happily following along.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo ann and steve maher-wearyThis is exciting! We’ve been looking forward to this for a long time.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen JonesI’ve been watching the converging lines of your trip and Susan’s with bated breath, but now a bonus with Suzanne! Laissez les bon temps rouler!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago