In Cuneo: the southeast loop - The Road to Rome, Part Two: Europe - CycleBlaze

October 17, 2021

In Cuneo: the southeast loop

From the OSM Cycling overlay on RideWithGPS, Cuneo looks like an ideal spot for an extended layover.  Look at the dense network of marked cycling itineraries radiating out in all directions!

Heart 3 Comment 4
Suzanne GibsonI saw that and am just waiting for the weather forecast to confirm that the end of October will be warm enough!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jen RahnPossibilities! Options!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterWhat a great base for the last phase of this tour - hope the weather cooperates
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Susan CarpenterSo far so good. The weather has been extraordinary here and for the days to come.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

We’ve got five days here, so we’ll be sampling the lay of the land in multiple directions, as well as taking at least one of the days to hike.  We’ve already seen some of the country to the north when we followed EV8 in from Saluzzo, and today we’ll head southeast following a pretty screwy-looking route I came up with just to get the miles in while sticking to paved minor roads as much as possible.

We didn’t get started until nearly 11, lazing around our spacious and comfortable apartment while we waited for the day to warm up.  I’ll let the photos speak for the day, with just a few other comments about it:

  • Our apartment couldn’t be better, with one exception: it’s on the second floor, there’s no elevator of course, and our bikes are up here with us.  We’ll be ready to move on by the time we leave here, we’ll tired by then of lugging our bikes up and down 55 stairs each time we go out with them.
  • I’ve never been in a region so dominated by chestnuts.  Their husks litter the ground everywhere, and you have to watch out for them when riding because they’re in the street too.  I don’t know if they’d flatten a tire, but they could cause a spill if you hit one wrong.  And, it’s a good reason to wear your helmet even on these empty roads.  I was startled when climbing a steep hill and got bonked when one loudly bounced off my helmet.
  • Downtown Cuneo was packed when we biked back through it at the end of the ride.  It’s the last day of the national chestnut festival, and billions of people were here completely clogging Via Roma, the main street through the heart of the old city.  Our room was on the opposite side of this throng, and it was interesting getting across.
  • Last night, for the first time since entering Italy three weeks ago, we were denied indoor seating at a restaurant because we don’t have a European Union Green Pass.  Fortunately they still had one outdoor table next to a space heater available, so we were fine this time.  I think the restaurant was just in error here, but it’s hard to argue when no one speaks your language.
Looking back at Cuneo from across the river, Torrente Gesso.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A bee line, the longest I’ve seen.
Heart 2 Comment 0
They’re everywhere!
Heart 3 Comment 0
The ivy is reddening fast in just the last few days.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Not sure what these are for, but maybe vegetable trellises?
Heart 3 Comment 0
Left turn ahead.
Heart 2 Comment 5
Gregory GarceauSometimes I think our generation is the last of the signal-your-turn riders. Do you extend the left arm with the forearm at a 90-degree angle for a right hand turn? Or do you do as I do--a point to the right with my right index finger? Just curious.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Gregory GarceauI’ll bet we are a dying breed. It’s what my father taught me at an impressionable stage, and it stuck.

I use a variety of techniques, depending on road conditions and how I’m feeling. Most commonly I signal a right turn with my right arm in the way you describe. At times though I point with my right hand; or with my left hand again, but behind my back; or if my hands are otherwise occupied I’ll occasionally use a foot.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauNice to have so many techniques. I'm especially impressed with using a foot to signal a turn. You are amazing.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rich FrasierTo Gregory GarceauOur Scott is evidently a man of many talents. And all while rocking a cool jersey with the Italian flag on the back. We can only look on in awe.

I too signal turns when traffic warrants it, but I too can only manage it with my arms.

When you’re rounding a French traffic circle in traffic, signaling is key to not confusing the drivers. French drivers signal copiously in these situations, so I do too. Seems to work well - we haven’t been flattened yet!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Rich FrasierI was feeling guilty and thinking I’d taken poetic license here, but Rachael reassured me that it was correct. I have used my foot as a turn indicator before, but she had no idea what I was indicating.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
It’s fairly hazy again today, and you can’t really see the mountains in the distance. Here we’re close enough up to the foothills for them to come clear.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The rural architecture here in the foothills to the southeast is unlike any I’ve seen before. We see a number of structures faced by rough cut, often open spaced planks.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Here’s another.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I stopped at first to take a photo of the impressive mountain of ivy blazing across the front of this building, but then noticed the more colorful wash.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Finally, a new species for Bill and not just another boring Italian wall lizard. Pretty sure these are Piedmontese flower box lizards, characteristic of this region.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Bill Shaneyfelt:-)

You might be correct!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Just out for a Sunday ride.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Some fine words by A. Einstein to inspire you to keep moving. More inspiring than those by Mussolini we saw earlier, I think.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Veggie rack. Count the varieties!
Heart 3 Comment 3
Suzanne GibsonFor the Cycle365 challenge!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Suzanne GibsonOh, of course! Thanks. I was thinking it needed to be my own bike.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Scott AndersonAdapting the rules is part of the game.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Some aspens and a bike.
Heart 2 Comment 0
approaching Pianfei, one of the larger outlying communities.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This decrepit bridge was prominently marked as prohibited for trucks. And no wonder - its widely gapped wood plank surface made us anxious just biking across it.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Jacquie GaudetBack when I was still working as a structural engineer, we used to specify gaps between planks on decks like this for drainage and to allow the wood to swell when wet. However, some of those planks look like they are in dire need of replacement.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Jacquie GaudetYes, I think there’s much more going on than leaving space for expansion. There was risk of dropping your wheel into some of them.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Someone’s modest summer retreat.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Ride stats today: 37 miles, 2,100’; for the tour: 2,181 miles, 78,700‘

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 2,181 miles (3,510 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0