Rochester to Weedsport - Brown's Folly - CycleBlaze

July 20, 2021

Rochester to Weedsport

   I rolled out of Rochester without seeing much of it. The trail and  hotel were south of the city center. I stopped in Palmyra for lunch and decided against riding the four miles to check out the spot where John Smith found the Golden Tablets. I had a great spinach salad, grilled chicken lunch in the Akropolis Restaurant, one  of two  Greek eateries in Palmyra. I rode on, using the guide and saw there was a dearth of hotels after Newark. The Newark Garden Hotel looked a little beat up so I rode on.

   In Clyde, I passed the Erie Mansion, which had a B&B sign outside. I knocked on the door and called the phone number next to the non-working bell. I informed the man who answered that I was out on his porch. There was a package and I was looking for a room. He said he was upstairs, rooms were $150 for two and breakfast was at 10am. I told him I was solo on a bicycle and would be long gone by 10. He didn’t care. I was unimpressed by the customer service and passed on the room.

   I did have the option of riding 10 miles south to Waterloo and Seneca Falls which had plenty of hotels and restaurants, but I would have had to ride more the next day to reunite with the trail.

  Twenty miles later when I was riding the hilly roads to Weedsport, I regretted my decision. When I was reading the one review that wasn’t written by a shill on Tripadvisor, after a great open roast beef sandwich at CJ’s (thanks, Jim and Laura for the restaurant tip) while resting in the only nice Days Inn (around $100) I ever stayed in, I was happy with my decision. While I was eating in CJ’s a storm blew through, but David and Chick kept the conversation flowing at the bar. 71.8 miles, my knees ached a bit.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 72 miles (116 km)
Total: 179 miles (288 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonYou made me laugh out load about with your comment about John Smith and the golden tablets!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago