Medina to Rochester - Brown's Folly - CycleBlaze

July 19, 2021

Medina to Rochester

   I had a hearty breakfast in the diner on Main Street. The marquee said it was open 24 hours but it opened at 6 am. The waitress called me honey so all was forgiven. I rode through Albion which looked like Medina but had significantly more churches. It also had what may be the ugliest building in the North Country, behind the courthouse. The town of Holley had an interesting sign. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

I had lunch in the Union Street Coffee House. The sign in the window drew me in. 

Good food inside, great coffee too
Heart 0 Comment 0

   I got a little lost after the town of Greece; the signage could be improved. Make the right and cross the bridge when you hit the road. The trail switches to the other side of the canal. If you are in the corporate park you went the wrong way. You expect good signage for $14 million dollars? What’s wrong with you?

  The trail gets paving, chain link fencing, rolling hills and graffiti as you approach Rochester. The signage when you hit Genesee Park makes an exit. Look for the yellow arrows on the pavement. The trail bypasses downtown Rochester. I grabbed a room at the Courtyard Marriott using points, about a mile away from the trailside REI. I had dinner at Phillip's European Restaurant. The place was packed, I ate at the bar, the bartender was a good dinner companion. The Monday special is Chicken French and it was excellent. I met the boys from Philly at a nearby TGIF and we discussed matters of significance. They had grabbed a nearby hotel. 52 miles today.

Heart 0 Comment 0

 

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 107 miles (172 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonLooks like you’re hitting all the same towns that we did, so far.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago