Reykjavik to Selfoss: on the road again - Endless Days in Iceland - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2013

Reykjavik to Selfoss: on the road again

Sun! At least, that's what I saw when I awoke this morning. Feeling rested and eager, and having gotten over the worst of the weather trauma, I left the hotel as soon as I could to ride to the outdoor store and collect my tent pole so I could escape the city once again. Of course, by the time I left the store, it was raining again, and rain, sun, and cloud alternated all day. Again I took the ring road south from Reykjavik, but this time I turned left onto route 435 just south of the city.

There are NO houses or cabins after a few kilometers on 435, just this pipe carrying hot water or steam to Reykjavik. And sheep, of course. The guide books say you can drink the water in small streams if there are NO sheep. I NEVER found such a stream.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The road left the steam pipe and began to climb steeply. I was passed by a group on horseback as I panted my way to the top, I was going so slow. Glad the wind was with me! At the top of the climb, there was an equally steep plunge into an old volcano crater. I thought of canping there, but there were still signs of sheep.

Its hard for a photo to do justice to the grades. The interior was kind of serene though, protected from the wind on all sides.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The climb out of the crater was even steeper.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The descent from the crater rim to the valley below was white-knuckled all the way, very steep, lots of bends. Thankfully, the brakes didn't fail but they were screaming in protest by the time I got to the bottom. At the bottom, I had the choice of left back to Thinvellir, or right toward the power station that produced the steam seen on day 3 across the lake, and onward toward Selfoss. I decided on the later. I took a short side trip to check out a "luxury wilderness hotel" near the power station. They wanted 218 euros per night. I politely declined and continued onward toward Selfoss. The road turned to dirt, but the sky opened up. I began to see a few farms. The lake hove into view. All in all a very pleasant ride.

Thingvallavatn from the south.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The dirt pavement lasted for about 15 km, with one paved section in front of a boyscout camp. Then it was back to the pavement by a hydroelectric power plant and a right turn onto route 35 to Selfoss. In Selfoss, I found a room at the Fos Hotel, taken rather than camp because the rain had started again. It stopped almost as soon as I finished showering, but I was glad to have it. It had a kitchen, so I could cook myself something for supper. I was in bed by 9:00 PM.

Today's ride: 81 km (50 miles)
Total: 251 km (156 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0