Repairing in Reykjavik - Endless Days in Iceland - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2013

Repairing in Reykjavik

I woke up feeling much better than when I had gone to bed. This despite the wine, or maybe because of it. To be honest the previous day's trials had frightened me badly. I couldn't help thinking " what if I had been on the Kjolur road with NO facilities", or "what if that truck had passed me when a gust hit?" and similar phantasms. Now I could at least appreciate the facts that nothing had killed or even hurt me, and that I had gotten through all right, and I now had to set aboout getting on with the tour.

I went to the bike shop where I rented the bike first. They provided me with a lock, which I hadn't had "on the trail" not wanting the weight or seeing the need, and instructions for finding a well-stocked outdoor store. Iceland doesn't have any Hilleberg dealers, but I thought with a little searching I might be able to find a replacement pole or two. The first shop I was sent to (by the guys at the bike rental place) didn't have any poles or parts, but they were kind enough to point me to what they described as a REAL outdoor store, Islenska Apenir (Icelandic Alps, in translation). The very friendly staff were able to help me and soon had repared one pole (Hilleberg provides ONE extra section with its pole pack) and had agreed to fixme up with a fiberglass replacement pole which they had to cut down from one in stock. AND they would have it done tomorrow, which meant I could be back on the road in the morning. GREAT! They also had a selection of gear I just HAD to have, including a folding windscreen for my stove, a dry bag I could use as a rack pack and some long twisty ties to attach it. Now to kill the time before I could leave. The shopping trip only took until 11:00, so I went in search of a sandwich, and a beer.

I wandered around Reykjavik in the rain for a while after lunch. I took the ferry boat to Videy island, having a nice conversation with the captain about fishing in Iceland vs. North America. I wandered aroound Videy bird watching, but the rain was persistant and I didn't get to see much. After a cup of tea at the restaurant on the island I took the ferry back and walked back to the hotel for an early night.

My best bird picture of the day, a Fulmar soaring along the cliffs on Videy
Heart 0 Comment 0
Reykjavik has some cool street art. This one caught my eye. I once taught a mycology course, and I still find 'shrooms really cool.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 10 km (6 miles)
Total: 170 km (106 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0