A note about gear - Endless Days in Iceland - CycleBlaze

A note about gear

Slightly less than the usual, with an emphasis on stuff that worked well, poorly, or not at all.

Bike: Trek mountain bike, 4 series with front suspension (lockable), wide tires, rear rack and attachment for a BoB trailer. Worked OK, but I prefer a "real" touring bike . A good alternative to bringing my own, I rented it from the Bike Company in downtown Reykjavik. Trailer: BoB, also rented, with my own Ortlieb 85 litre bag. Worked great, but a bit scary on steep downhills. Tent: Hilleberg Nallo2 GT. My normal tent. See text for further details. Sleeping bag: McKinley 5UL. perfect weight and thermal capacity for this tour. Stove: Camping gas. Gas cartridges rare, but findable in Iceland, especially Reykjavik. Thermarest, inflatable pillow, bike shorts, rain gear, blah blah blah. You probably know more about it than I do!

I forget stuff. On every tour I have ever done, there has been something missing when I opened my saddle bags for the first time. This time it was a quick drying towel, easily procurred in Reykjavik before setting out.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0