Day 26 - ending at Keokuk, IA - Getting Aligned - CycleBlaze

August 31, 2017

Day 26 - ending at Keokuk, IA

Posted via email Fri Sep 1 06:51:03 2017 PDT

Woke up at 5:45am. There's a mist over the river, but the tent is relatively dry. Worked on report, then breakfast at 8:30am. Packed up and was ready to leave at 10:12am, but just then an RV camper who's just pulled in and set up came over to talk. Another truck driver who also rides a motorcycle. We discussed my route for today, and he confirmed that the Mississippi River Road between Montrose and Keokuk is open. My plan is to make it to Wildcat Springs Park in Hamilton, Illinois, by-way-of that road. With a farewell I was on my way at 10:20am.

First, I needed to make it to Bonaparte. The CR-J40 hill east of Bentonsport put me to work right away. I noticed the northeast wind when I made it to the top of that hill. I arrived at Bonaparte at 11:09am. Took a few pictures of the B&B I'd stayed at during my 2013 trip. The place is open only for group functions now. There was enough of a cell signal here to get the report sent in, so I did that before leaving at 11:45am.

On to Farmington, following roads I'd been on before - CR-W40 and IA-2. I'd just made it to Route 2 at noon - 6.2 miles so far for today. I crossed the Des Moines River for the last time for this trip at 12:27pm, and was in Farmington at 12:33pm. I decided to have lunch at the nearby Bridge Cafe & Supper Club. I sat at the counter while the waitress stated the special: pulled-pork sandwich, double-baked mashed potatoes, and baked beans. That's what I went with, plus root beer. I over-heard the cook saying, "Why is he taking a picture of that?" as I lined up for my lunch photo. I said, "Because I'm a tourist on vacation." That started lots of conversations with the cook, the waitress, and other customers. One elderly lady walked slowly over and gave me three bandaids, saying they might come in handy. After cherry pie and a canteen of ice, I said 'good-bye' to my new friends, and was on my way at 1:24pm.

It'd become partly cloudy while I'd been eating. Looks like clouds from a hurricane system moved in-land. Only a 20% chance for rain here today, according to my weather radio.

I found the hill out of the river bottom farther east than I'd expected. Then I rode through the Shimek Forest. At 1:57pm, I entered Lee County. Made it to Donnellson at 3:34pm. Here's where I said 'good-bye' to Route 2 for good. I turned south onto 180th Avenue, to get to US-218. Passed by Charleston at 4:05pm, and New Boston at 4:21pm. No paved shoulder on this highway, but a wide rideable-gravel one. I was on that only when necessary.

At 4:21pm, I turned left onto Peach Orchard Road - the way I'd routed to get to Montrose. It starts off with a downhill. I was lining up for a picture when I car started up the hill. It stopped next to me. It was the sheriff. He said, "Is it a Kodak moment?" I said, "All day long!" He smiled, made sure I was OK, and wished me well. The 'Kodak moment' was actually waiting for me at the bottom of the hill. I could see the Mormon Temple in Nauvoo from here! My picture didn't capture this well, but the white dot in the center is it.

Continuing on, I crossed US-61 at 5:09pm, and arrived in Montrose at 5:15pm. I stopped at Casey's there for a chocolate milk and to check tire pressures. Front at 45.0 psi, and the back at 80.5 psi! I don't know how the back got ten pounds over maximum rating, but I decided to leave it there. I've also decided I've had it with this multi-unit gauge!

At 5:36am, I was at the Mississippi River! It's really windy here; the breeze coming right off the water. After drinking my chocolate milk, I moved on to the Mississippi River Road, heading south to Keokuk. There were signs indicating this road is part of the MRT (Mississippi River Trail). A nice concrete road with shoulder once I was out of Montrose. Railroad tracks to the left, and farther left, the river. I was expecting 'flat' all the way, but there were a few hills. I was racing a barge as we both headed south. The barge won. It was fun to see a tug pull away from shore to join the barge as it neared the lock and dam.

At 7:20pm, I'd made it up the hill into Keokuk, and was standing by the Chief Keokuk statue. What a view of the river from this spot! I could also see that the sun was setting when I looked behind me. Decided I'd better make it another motel night.

With help from Google Maps, which I followed with my smartphone mounted on the bike bracket, I arrived at Chief Motel at 7:49pm. I'm in room 122, which has a full kitchen ("room for the bike"). Walked across the street for a DQ Blizzard (Butterfinger), took a shower, selected report pictures, and made it to bed at 11:10pm.

Tomorrow, Illinois for sure!

Jeff

Spent: $12.29 plus $3 (lunch) + $1.59 (chocolate milk) + $61.60 plus $5 (motel) + $4.16 (DQ Blizzard) = $87.64.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Day 26 - Bentonsport, IA to Keokuk, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Bentonsport Bridge in the morning light - Bentonsport, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a river view of Bonaparte, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a thoughtful gift I hope I don't need +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking north along Front Street - Farmington, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Burg Wagon Works building at the corner of State and 2nd Street - Farmington, IA +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Sugar Creek - Lee County, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Mississippi River bottomland along Peach Orchard Road - Lee County, IA +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ pump controls on truck parked inside fire station - Montrose, IA +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ where Horton Creek meets the river - Montrose, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ replica of the original 10-by-12 foot Galland School - Lee County, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ taking a break during an uphill climb along CR-X28 - Lee County, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ inside room 122 of the Chief Motel - Keokuk, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 960 miles (1,545 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0