Day Zero - Getting to Swansea - Tom tames the Easter Welsh Dragon - CycleBlaze

March 28, 2024

Day Zero - Getting to Swansea

Not the most enjoyable of train journeys

Well, I suddenly remember why I like to log these trips when I can. It's either send someone a stream of consciousness via text message, or write them down! Enjoy the stream of consciousness! I thought packing would be easy for this trip. I ought to have more packing space than last year's successful trip to Rome as I've changed my saddle bag for a tailfin aeropack. Maybe it does have more space than the restrap saddle bag I used last year, but it's somewhat harder to pack anyway as there's no stuff sack. I assumed I would have plenty of time to pack but as it turned out I was in quite the rush! The train from Leighton Buzzard to London being late turned out to be a blessing, but I wasn't so keen when the 1 minute late at the start point transitioned to 4 minutes late by the time I got to London. I'm still struggling to find a home for my D lock on the bike. Not only that but a last minute decision to ditch one pair of shoes and just bring the one pair. I really hope my shoes don't get soaked tomorrow.

I've been told by some people at least that my style of writing is an enjoyable read. This all seems pretty mundane so far. Are you enjoying my wittering? Strap in folks!

Euston rail station was absolutely rammed. Usually this would not bother me (as much at least), but this time I had a train to catch at London Paddington, 2 miles away.

I just about managed to get to Paddington in time...but it turns out I'm not a fan of Great Western Railway. They insist you have a bike reservation for the their express trains, but then when you turn up and try to board the the train it's a complete free for all. It didn't help that I thought I had just a bike reservation, but I actually had a seat reservation too. Guess what! In their wisdom they wanted me to put my expensive bike on a completely different carriage to my seat. Remember not to lock the bike to the train! Sigh.

The original plan was a mad adventure to the top of Kilvey Hill and set up camp there in the dark. I can't be bothered however and the 4 pod hostel room in the city centre only had 4 beds left. Oh no! I assume that means I'll get the room to myself for under £25. Here's hoping! My bike seems overloaded, the main issue being my knees are hitting the frame bag, which is not particularly enjoyable. I could offload stuff in to my rucksack but ideally I don't ride with that on my back at all.

I didn't have time to make sandwiches for the train journey either, so I'm rather hungry! I've just got flapjacks and fruit with me. Oh and a stove without any fuel, that's handy isn't it! First job tomorrow is a trip to GoOutdoors to rectify that.

In the end I bought a sandwich on the train. Can you guess how much that cost? £4.20 Niice. I'm not sure how many of you will get that joke. It wasn't particularly nice, I could have had a whole meal deal for less than that at a supermarket. Not a huge surprise given I was a captive audience. I did wince as I paid however.

Today's ride: 5 miles (8 km)
Total: 5 miles (8 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0