Maui and Molokai, Hawaii 1995 - 1988-2002 Bike Tours - CycleBlaze

March 4, 1995 to March 19, 1995

Maui and Molokai, Hawaii 1995

My second tour on Pacific islands. One of my favorite tours.

16 days, 479 miles (766 km). Start/finish at the Kahului airport.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I spent 5 days on Molokai and pedaled pretty much all the main roads of the island. No traffic lights, no multi-lane roads, no fast food places, no crowds. More native Hawaiians than on the other islands.

Free campsite at Kawaikiu beach on Molokai. 1.5 miles down a trail. I had the beach to myself.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I spent 11 days on Maui and again pedaled most all of the main roads on the island. Pedaled from sea level to the campground in Haleakala National Park, 7000 feet elevation. Early the next morning I hitch-hiked to the summit to watch the sunrise, then hiked through Haleakala crater to get back to the campground.

Moonscape deep inside Haleakala crater.
Heart 1 Comment 0

34 miles of hiking, including a day hike in Haleakala crater, a hike to the Seven Sacred Pools, a coastal hike on lava at Waianapanapa State Park, and a guided hike to the Kalaupapa leper colony.

Hiking the 2 mile long staircase to the Kalaupapa leper colony on Molokai.
Heart 0 Comment 0

On this tour I carried 7 pounds of HF ham radio equipment and spoke to people all around east Asia, North and South America. I had to watch where I was going because the top of the antenna was 10 feet (3m) high.

I obviously didn't think much about self-portraits during this tour. The beach photo is the only picture of the bike. The trail photo is the only picture of me.

The weather was warm and sunny for the entire tour, but usually very windy. I camped 11 nights, spent 2 nights at a hostel, and 2 nights at a motel.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0