Grand Junction to Fruita - Grand Junction to Durango 1991 - CycleBlaze

April 12, 1991

Grand Junction to Fruita

The unexpected is the norm on a bike tour.  After reading of sixty and seventy degree sunny days in the papers for the last few weeks, I arrived in Colorado this morning in time for a late winter snowstorm.  The flights to both Denver and Durango were delayed because of snow in Denver - and though the sky was clear in Grand Junction when I arrived at 11 last night, I awoke to a light, wet snowfall this morning.

Actually, I was pleased to be in Grand Junction at all - I had almost resigned myself to a night's layover in Denver because of the delay on the first leg; but the Grand Junction departure was also delayed, allowing me to make the connection.

A few notes about the flight:
 - Rock Springs and southern Wyoming were coated in an ash blue snow.
 - The plane is a Beechcraft, and very small.  I sat next to the prop, which looked to me like the wings of Saturn as it rotated.
 - It took forever to check baggage in Portland.
 - I'm reading Drinking Dry Clouds: Stories from Wyoming, by Gretel Ehrlich.
 - Rachael is in Salt Lake City for four days (ed: visiting her mother Shirley, now deceased).
 - Shawn (ed: our son, age 19 at the time) is staying alone at the house.

I had breakfast at a simple cafe after futilely waiting around the motel until about 10, hoping for a break in the weather.  I bought a book (Plains Song, by Wright Morris), in anticipation of hours waiting out the storm; and also a pair of warm gloves, after nearly freezing off my hands in the two mile ride from the hotel.

After much decision and uncertainly I finally decided to bike through Colorado National Monument.  I anticipated more snow and poor visibility (the elevation in Grand Junction is 4500', and in the monument caps out at 6600').  It turned out to be the right decision - even though the weather was on again/off again, there were enough clearing spells so that I was able to appreciate this spectacular park.  The snow added a dimension of beauty and contrast to the dramatic rock formations.  There was virtually no traffic in the thirty mile ride through the park, which compensated for the poor weather.  I had my first flat only five miles out, and changed it in the snow.  Changing it went smoothly.  Actually, I stayed fairly warm and dry for most of the day.

I had dinner in Fruita at Pancho's Villa.  I had a Navaho taco of a different sort (ed: this must be in reference to the amazing gut buster we had in Saint Mary's the previous summer on the evening before crossing Going-to-the-Sun Pass), and warmed up over coffee.  I found a fine, comfortable motel after passing over one with this note on the door: "Fill out reg. card and pay me in the AM".

The weather forecast: 50% chance of snow today, and 40% tomorrow - but right now it's looking pretty fair out.  The sun has broken through and is warming me through the motel window.  Hope for the best - it's over 80 miles to Moab, and I'd like to reach it tomorrow.

After dinner, I walked back to the city center to shop for groceries for the road, and read Plains Song until I crashed for the night.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Descending to Fruita from Colorado National Monument
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 40 miles (64 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0