The DD 2018 ! - Dunwich Dynamo 2018 - CycleBlaze

January 27, 2018

The DD 2018 !

Normally, I would not introduce a day trip into the CycleBlaze 'ecosystem', but this is different for a couple of reasons.  First of all, it's an overnighter - even if the actual overnight stuff will be spent on the bike.  At least for the first night.  Second, Penelop is coming up to meet me and we're having a lovers' weekend on the coast.  

So, what exactly is the Dunwich Dynamo or 'the DD'?  It's an annual trip from London to the town of Dunwich on the coast of Suffolk.   Starting at around eight or nine in the evening, always on the Saturday closest to the July full moon, 120 miles (193 km) later, one coasts into Dunwich early in the morning.  The Wikipædia page is: 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dunwich_Dynamo

... if you want some more information.   

What started as a 'jolly jape' by some mates has morphed into an international event, and of course money has moved in and I gather that it's nothing like in the early days.  When the right-on Guardian gets involved, you know that all hope is lost, and that all blame will be on white, heterosexual, Jewish males..  

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/bike-blog/2016/jul/19/whats-the-etiquette-of-the-dunwich-dynamo

But anyway, I'm fifty.  Call it a mid-life crisis if you want , but at least I've not bought a Porsche.  Nor have I had the extramarital affair.  And I won't.  

I considered doing the entire run on my single speed, but there's mid-life crisis and then there's just plain silly.  So I shall be aboard my carbon frame sports bike. 

As I mentioned earlier on, Penelope will be there for part of the weekend.  She will drive up to Dunwich some time on the Saturday, and spend the first night alone in the hotel.  Next morning, I will get into town on my bike, no doubt exhausted but (hopefully) proud and in one piece.  After a couple of hours sleep, we can start to enjoy the coastal breeze.  

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0