Gennes to Bressuire: Tough day for me...very hot - A tour of France, and Portugal - CycleBlaze

September 4, 2014

Gennes to Bressuire: Tough day for me...very hot

Today was the toughest day for me. We cycled on nice quiet roads, through dairy farms, and hardly saw any cars. The terrain was fairly flat, accept for the last 20 kilometers, which was steady uphill, and it was 32 degrees, plus. When we arrived at our destination, I was done. It was the first day that I questioned myself why we are doing this. It doesn't help, that Ron kindly passed on his "24 hour" cold to me. To add fuel to the fire, the first hotel we checked, which was a ride back out of town, was full, so back into town to the last room there. I can see why it was not booked. Oh well, I was quite ready to lay down on a park bench, so it was a bed.

Tomorrow is a new day.

Hello Christian. Can we come for a week, please?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our cute house that we had to ourselves in Gennes, with a WASHING MACHINE.
Heart 0 Comment 0
These were the best apples!
Heart 0 Comment 0
French kiss
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Picnic spot for the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Great expresso stop. This is a French culinary school restaurant. Too bad we already had lunch.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Can we please get that squeak out of Ron's peddle?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rest is over
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Love the blue shutters
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
At least it was a bed
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 87 miles (140 km)
Total: 535 miles (861 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0