OREGON OR BUST: There's a Time to Boast About Riding in the Rain and There's a Time to Simply Shut Up - The Dotted Lines Of The Inland Northwest - CycleBlaze

August 11, 2019

OREGON OR BUST: There's a Time to Boast About Riding in the Rain and There's a Time to Simply Shut Up

This was the morning I was going to have to make some final decisions about where to go for the last week of my tour.  There could be no more delaying.  I've stayed true to the route I originally proposed over the first two weeks, but all my dilly-dallying and non-biking activities have put me behind schedule.  As a result, I am forced to make some changes.

I had been looking forward to the challenge of a 20-mile climb into the Wallowa Mountains of northeast Oregon (sort of.)  It would be the highest elevations of the trip.  However, the Oregon part of my trip would take up at least four of the seven days I have left, which would require me to race back to Spokane with little time to truly appreciate the Palouse.  Either that or I would have to take the undignified, un-tough-guy-like, step of calling The Feeshko to pick me up.  I am sorry to have to report that the Wallowa Mountains are going to have to wait for another year or two.

Image not found :(
I took this picture of the distant Wallowa Mountains last night. It looks like I'm going to miss out on a pot of gold.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Of course, I realize that almost nobody really gives a rat's ass where I go or where I don't go.  Even so, I'm going to come right out and tell you some big news anyway.  I HAVE NOT TOTALLY GIVEN UP ON OREGON!  Nosiree!

Oregon is one of only five states into which I have never set foot, and it's only a measly six miles away.  I MUST go to Oregon, and there is no reason in the world I can't ride down there this morning, then ride back to the motel, load up my bike, and head off into the heart of the Palouse.  Go ahead, say it:  "Damn, Greg, that's some mighty brilliant thinking!"

A few minutes past 8:00, in accordance with my new plan, I was Oregon bound.  Immediately I felt a strong breeze blowing at me straight from the south, which made me feel even more smug about the brilliance of my plan because now I wouldn't have to pedal into that wind--uphill--all day long.

A couple of minutes later there were a few raindrops.  When the raindrops increased in intensity, I stopped to put on my rain jacket.  No big deal.  I was just glad I had it with me, considering I left almost all the rest of my gear at the motel.  Then, half-way to Oregon, the rain opened up on me like one of those huge irrigation monsters I showed in pictures a couple days ago.  I didn't care.  I was focused on one thing--Oregon.  Oregon or bust!

I had no windshield wipers on my sunglasses, so I took them off in order to see the road--only to have the wind drive the rain into my eyes.  Oregon!  Little rivers and pools began to form on the roads.  Oregon!  I passed up a convenience store where I could have taken shelter.  Oregon!  I stopped to take a picture of one of those rivers coming down Highway 11 right at me, but my phone got wet and malfunctioned.  Oregon!

I did manage to get a picture of a lake that had formed where there once was a road. This Oregon place better be worth it.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I persevered because that's what a Tough Guy does.  But beyond all the "Tough Guy" mumbo jumbo, I've ridden in heavy rain on many, many, many occasions and I've survived every one of them.  I survived this rainstorm too, at least long enough to reach Oregon.  I dried off my phone the best I could and was glad I could document the achievement.  Then, for good measure, I rode about twenty feet further and turned around.

Here I am--just like the Mount Everest climber who endures days of suffering to reach the summit, takes the picture, and goes back down the mountain. Yeah, EXACTLY like that.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I made it to Oregon, but somehow I get the feeling I haven't truly experienced all that the state has to offer.  I've heard Oregon has a pretty nice Pacific Ocean coastline.  I guess there are some nice volcanoes up in its part of the Cascade Mountains too.  Apparently there are also some decent towns and cities, including a place called Portland.  Whatever.  Hey, the important thing is I'VE BEEN TO OREGON!

******************

It was slightly embarrassing to traipse through the motel lobby with soaking wet clothing, shoes that squished loudly with every step, and a Reckless Mr. Bing Bong full of sand and grime from the road.  To anybody who might have said anything about my appearance, I was prepared to respond, "Hey, I just rode to Oregon.  What did YOU do today?"

I went to my room and checked out the weather report.  It did not look at all promising for at least the next couple of hours.  I was already soaking wet.  So what the hell, I booked another night in Walla Walla.  It's a nice enough city.  I'd even go so far as to say it's the nicest city I've been in on this tour, based on what I saw in the downtown area yesterday.  Besides, Walla Walla, WA is fun to say.

At noon, the skies cleared up in Walla Walla, WA (though the distant mountains of Oregon were still shrouded in rain drenched clouds.)  I got back on my bike to explore the city of Walla Walla, WA feeling even more smug than before.  I road up and down every downtown street.

I've rambled on too long.  I'll finish with pictures and captions.

PEOPEOMOXMOX was a famous chief of the Walla Walla tribe. In my opinion, Peopeomoxmox (Yellow Bird) is as fun to say as Walla Walla, WA.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Marcus Whitman hotel is easily the tallest building in Walla Walla. Marcus Whitman was some kind of missionary. His name isn't all that much fun to say.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Walla Walla County administrative building is nice.
Heart 0 Comment 0
So is the Banner Bank building.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Two of several churches in what looked like the church district.
Heart 0 Comment 0
If I was a church-going man, I think I'd be interested in "The Crazy Love Church."
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Keith KleinTook me two reads of this sign to figure it out.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith KleinAs a hipster wannabe, I felt offended-- until I read it a second time as well. As a hipster never-be, I was a bit surprised that you could bring pets into this business.
By the way, El Corazon is a winery, one of several wineries in downtown Walla Walla, and they are apart from the wineries I noted on the highway leading into Walla Walla. Just now I checked out their website and guess what: it seems to be run by HIPSTERS! I wish I had stopped in because I'm sure it would have provided some great material for my journal.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Main Street Walla Walla, WA
Heart 0 Comment 0
A cool mural
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another one on the opposite side of the courtyard
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 20 miles (32 km)
Total: 535 miles (861 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Scott AndersonHey, I give a rat’s ass! And I said earlier, Oregon hasn’t gone anywhere. Come on down.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith KleinHi,
What is the price of Oregon in rat’s asses? Scott bids one, do I hear two?
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith KleinNINE!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Ron SuchanekNow that I see my old buddy Scott's salty comment, I don't feel so bad about the mangina comment.
Anyway, everyone knows it only rains in western Oregon. You must have been given bad directions. But the Wallows are spectacular, and well worth experiencing.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago