*****My Eighth Annual Bike Touring Wine Event: And a Review of the Local Product - The Dotted Lines Of The Inland Northwest - CycleBlaze

August 1, 2019

*****My Eighth Annual Bike Touring Wine Event: And a Review of the Local Product

This morning I purchased an intriguing bottle of wine from right here in the famous wine producing region of the Columbia valley.  The wine I selected was a 2014 Riesling from the 14 Hands Winery.  I have no idea if 2014 was a good year for Washington Rieslings, but the label's promise of "flavors of apple, pear, and apricot with an ideal balance of minerality and acidity" sounded too good to pass up.

I stuffed the bottle into my tent bag and hauled it all the way to my campsite where I planned to uncork it after I was done biking, wildlife viewing, swimming and cartwheeling.  Unfortunately, I didn't have my Swiss Army knife with me this year, therefore I had no corkscrew.  I resorted to pushing the cork into the bottle with an allen wrench.  Interestingly, the loose cork seemed to have a positive effect on the decanting process.

I sensed no apples, pears or apricots but I kind of tasted the flavor of grapes, a touch of beef jerky, and a hint of sin.  Those flavors came as a surprise because, upon opening the bottle, the bouquet exuded such scents as river water, pine needles, and a discreet hint of evangelism.

Oh yes, the wine is perfect for the end of a hot Columbia River day.  I would comfortably pair this wine with a handful of ants, which are crawling around this campground.  The wine's pungent fruitiness would offset the bitter acidity of live ants very nicely.  I could also see chugging this delightful Riesling with a filet de carp.  I don't know what kind of fish they actually catch on the Columbia River.  Maybe it's carp.  Maybe it's walleye.  Maybe it's shark, halibut or catfish.  I don't know fish, but I sure as heck know wine--and this wine is fine.


"What did you think of the wine, G-2?"
Heart 0 Comment 0
"I think it tastes like chicken."
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Keith KleinYou really need to come over here. The land of you ancestors is bursting with flavorful vintages, and we even do courses on wine tasting. Not everyone can do it well, it takes years of practice you know, but a few weeks imbibing the great crus of France should give you a solid grounding.
Oh, look up how to open a bottle of wine with your shoe. Educational video for the thirsty cyclist.
Cheers,
Keith
P.s. I’m not ,quite as jocular today. The drugs are wearing off.......
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith KleinI just watched the video on opening a wine bottle with a shoe. It's amazing and it will definitely be my preferred method for next year's wine review.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago