Leaving the ophthalmologist behind - What to do between doctors visits - CycleBlaze

July 1, 2019

Leaving the ophthalmologist behind

The news was not good, but expected just the same. Close examination through the microscope confirmed what I already knew: macular degeneration has started in my left eye. Surgery to halt its progress was called for, and that would be relatively soon, just after the surgeon got back from his summer vacation. My other surgeon (doesn’t everyone have two?) wants to see me in a week’s time to discuss my options for repairing my damaged right hand.

What better way to put those troubles out of my mind than to get on my bike and go riding for the next week? I have my new panniers and the bike has never been on a proper tour. Only thing I need to do is pick a region to visit, not too far, but new to me. I settled on the department of the Creuse. Three train rides should get me from Dijon to Montluçon where I can begin the ride. 

They’ve changed the name of the toilets in the gare in Dijon. I found that amusing for some reason.
Heart 2 Comment 0
They first of three trains was late. Here it is stopped at Decize on the way to Nevers waiting for a red light while the track is cleared.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Missing my connection in Nevers gave me some time to ride to a bakery for a sandwich. I had planned to grab a quick lunch in Bourges, but the next train didn’t get there until four o’clock. 

In Bourges, I again had to wait for the last train. Killing time I went to see the cathedral. Like all the cathedrals in France it is being renovated. This never ending process sometimes comes to grief, as with the tragedy of Notre Dame de Paris.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Finally I boarded the last train to Montluçon, arriving there at 7:00. I had booked a hotel by the river, and after showering and changing into street clothes, I went looking for supper, which all in all was nothing special, so I won’t bore you with the details.

The chateau crowns the city of Montluçon.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 36 km (22 miles)
Total: 36 km (22 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Scott AndersonGreat to see you on the road again, Keith! Looking forward to seeing where you take us this time.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith KleinHi Scott,
Holy cow that was fast! I just posted minutes before you wrote. this will be a short tour. Ive got a doctor’s appointment to get to!
Thanks for following along.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Kathleen JonesNice to see you on the road again, Keith. Good luck with the surgeries.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith KleinTo Kathleen JonesHi Kathleen,
Thanks for the good wishes. For right now there’s only one surgery scheduled. I hope it stays that way, but the pain in my hands isn’t getting better. Sigh.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jacquie GaudetHi Keith
If it's a carpal tunnel thing, I had that surgery on my left hand last fall. This year is the first time I've been able to ride without tingling and numbness in that hand since I can remember. Bonus: I haven't woken in the night with my arm on fire either!
Jacquie
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith KleinTo Jacquie GaudetHi Jacquie,
Good for you that the surgery worked. I was at the surgeon’s yesterday (7-7-19) and he diagnosed maladie de Dupuytren, or palmar fibromyalgia (I’m not sure about the translation) which is benign, and can be treated by surgery but recurs after a few years. He thinks delaying is the best course of action. I’m learning to cope, but my thumb is numb. Except if I touch it just right, then it hurts. Damn.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jacquie GaudetNot the same thing, then. Carpal tunnel syndrome is diagnosed by nerve testing, but the usual symptom is numbness of the thumb and first two fingers. Other nerve issues apparently cause other symptoms (which can include numbness).
Reply to this comment
4 years ago