Up (and down) to another end. - What to do between doctor’s visits, part 2 - CycleBlaze

August 1, 2019

Up (and down) to another end.

As I write this in Camaret sur Mer the sun is shining. Indeed it was shining when I got up this morning in Douarnenez and as I left. But the skies became overcast by mid morning to the surprise of no one, and the air was generally cool all day. I coasted out of the hotel to the harbor road for one last look.

Island in the harbor mouth at Douarnenez.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The village of Treboul across the harbor.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Climbing out of the town was difficult. The road to Locronan is on a ten percent gradient. I ground out the climb, and continued on through rolling country until the turn for Ploevan, where I stopped for coffee. I rode to St. Nic where there was an old church in the grey Breton style. 

Church and calvaire at St. Nic
Heart 1 Comment 0

The road to St. Nic was not too difficult, but it eventually rejoined a main traffic artery which was too nerve-wracking. I left it at Telgruc, which put me on a descent toward the coast. This meant that I would have to climb out again, but it wasn’t as steep as the morning climb. Winding back roads got me to a beach near Crozon, where there was a crêperie and I decided to stop for lunch. 

Lunch view.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Lunch over, I was faced with the day’s biggest challenge. A sixteen percent grade into the town of Crozon. Ouch! I just put my head down  and ground it out in my smallest Gear.

Camaret-sur-Mer at the end of the road.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The rest of the ride to Camaret was anticlimactic. One more descent into town, and into my hotel on the waterfront. I took na walk around the port after the usual ablutions. The sun reminded me that I needed a hat to keep my scalp from getting sunburned, so I got a cheap in the local supermarket.

Selfie with guard tower in the background.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Gregory GarceauIf you're as bald as I am, a hat is a necessity. There is no sunburn as painful as a sunburn on the top of your head.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith KleinSo true. Add to that the fact that sunscreen makes a lousy hair tonic and you get hats. One of my old college buddies was a philosophy major, and he was fond of posing the question « do hats cause baldness or does baldness cause hats? ». Now we know.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Where old boats go to die. The fishing industry here has really suffered from over-exploitation of the local stocks.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The fisherman’s chapel on the seaside. Built to withstand the weather, which must be awful in the winter from the look of it.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Supper was fish soup, grilled sardines, and far Breton, a local plum flan, for dessert.

Today's ride: 62 km (39 miles)
Total: 196 km (122 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0