To the end of the earth (or almost) - What to do between doctor’s visits, part 2 - CycleBlaze

July 31, 2019

To the end of the earth (or almost)

I came so close to getting to Pointe de Raz. Really, I could see it. But I didn’t get all the way because of, well, this is Brittany, and despite the sun peeking through the clouds most of the morning, it began to rain. I hurried back to my bike, which wasn’t allowed on the path to the point, to cover the saddle. Other cyclists were at the tourist office at the head of the path trying to decide if they would brave the elements or not. It was raining hard enough that I couldn’t use the camera, so I beat a retreat from the point to go find lunch. 

I got up at the unheard of hour of 5:30 this morning. I had a combination of impatient longing to be on the road and nervousness about the day’s planned ride. I knew that the route I had selected would be the longest ride Ive done for some time, and I also knew that Brittany is anything but flat. I wanted to get going early in case there were unforeseen problems, but in the event aside from the usual wrong turns getting out of the city of Quimper, all was smooth sailing. I made the sixty odd kilometers to Point de Raz by 11:30, and after lunching on a Breton galette « complet », the ride to Douarnenez was a romp with a tailwind to help.

The view from almost Pointe de Raz.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Douarnenez is an old fishing port and after checking into my hotel, I went down to the harbor. The boat museum was open and I went in. The collection consists of a great many traditional boats from all over France and the former colonies, and is housed partly afloat in the harbor. Of course, the rain didn’t come until I went outside to see the boats in the harbor at the museum pier.

A coracle in the museum collection.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The oldest preserved racing boat in France. The sail area on this is really impressive.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Restored fishing boat.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After wandering around the town, I went back to the hotel for a nap and then supper. The meal was superb, by far the best I’ve ever had in Brittany. I can’t remember all the Dishes that were served, but I’ll show you a couple of pictures.

The avant entrée : Chick pea cream soup with beetroot shoots and onion.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Gregory GarceauSo small, yet so beautiful.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith KleinTo Gregory GarceauHi Greg,
I’m glad you’re reading this now. It gives me a chance to go back and relive the tour. The mere memory of this meal is enough to provoke a gastronomic reverie.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
The entrée. Royal of vegetables and Bayonne ham with mustard and tarragon sorbet.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I ate the main dish (filet of sea bass on a gratin with braised kale) without stopping for a photo. It was too good! Dessert was cherries confit with dark chocolate. After that, I went to my room and fell immediately asleep.

Today's ride: 100 km (62 miles)
Total: 134 km (83 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott Anderson134k! Congratulations, old guy!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith KleinHi Scott,
There’s life in the old boy yet. But as Satchel Paige once said: «  Don’t look back. Something might be gaining on you. »
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
4 years ago