Singing (?) in the rain - What to do between doctor’s visits, part 2 - CycleBlaze

August 11, 2019

Singing (?) in the rain

It didn’t look promising this morning when I got up, clouds in the sky and a chill breeze blowing. As I got packed, the rain started, a light drizzle at first that turned into a steady rain that lasted for the time that if took me to reach the summit of the Col de Lestards and for a ways after. Then sunshine broke out which lasted for an all too brief while until the clouds returned. When I got to Égletons, the sky crackled with lightning, and I saw my salvation right in front of me: an abandoned covered market place.

Looking out at the pouring rain.
Heart 0 Comment 0

When the lightning stopped and the rain abated, I set out again. It wasn’t exactly dry, yet, but I was soaked anyway, so I decided to go onward. Not my greatest decision, but it was motivated by the need to eat and the knowledge that most French restaurants are closed Sunday evening, so I had to make the noon seating at my hotel-restaurant. When the thunder recommenced, I was in a forest, but I soon spotted an autoroute underpass and I stopped there to wait once again. And again, the storm calmed. This time I made it without further electrical events all the way to my destination, the Hotel/restaurant Europa in Maussac. Of course the room was not ready, but the proprietor let me camp out in the lobby while I waited for lunch.

Exchanging pleasantries with the proprietor, we discovered that we were both from near Dijon. Now, to my admittedly biased way of thinking, the gastronomic capital of France, and maybe the world, is Dijon. Others are entitled to their opinions, but I’m not wrong. Anyway, hearing this bit of intelligence was very reassuring. As you may have noted, I haven’t been thrilled with the cuisine here in the Limousin, and the thought of a Burgundian in the kitchen gave me high hopes.

Lunch in the event turned out to be copious and excellent, just the thing for a steamy cyclist.

I started with a carpaccio of garden tomatoes, accompanied by home-made gazpacho and a tomato sorbet.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Main course was pave of rumsteak (beef), stuffed onion and grilled garden vegetables.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The cheese course was truffle-filled Beaufort (left) and Cantal (right) served with a small salad and mango chutney. Divine!
Heart 0 Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesOoh, we are salivating just looking at the photos.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

Dessert was a ball of lemon sorbet covered with cherry liquor. My room was ready after lunch, and after showering, I took a brief nap.

Feeling much refreshed, I looked outside to see the sun, so I went for a walk in the neighborhood.

The foothills of the Massif Central spread out in all directions from the village.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The village boasts a twelfth century church, with a thirteenth century bell tower.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 km (30 miles)
Total: 731 km (454 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Gregory GarceauSeeing that beautiful garden tomato carpaccio gave me a fond memory of the diced grocery store tomatoes that were sprinkled on my "taco" at Kuk's Tavern. Your Burgundian-style meal might have been almost as good as my Taco Tuesday experience.

(Sorry, that was probably the stupidest thing I've ever written.)
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith KleinHi,
Well, its difficult to say which meal was better, but mine tasted good without three margaritas. Yours?
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
4 years ago