More travel, more delay - What to do between doctor’s visits, part 2 - CycleBlaze

July 30, 2019

More travel, more delay

Today was yet another day of riding trains and waiting. The plan was to get the 9 o’clock train to Angers, change for the train to Nantes where I would have lunch, then take the 12:50 to Quimper where the tour would finally begin. Except that the train from Angers to Nantes was late, and the train from Nantes to Quimper cancelled due to high winds knocking down the power lines. So I had to detour via Rennes with long layovers in that city and Nantes. I did a little sightseeing in both cities, but there’s not much one can see just riding around on a bike with all one’s luggage.

Before boarding the train in Tours I noticed this mural. Those happy riders don’t notice the grade on their single-speed tandem!
Heart 2 Comment 0
The botanical garden in Nantes is very close to the station, and I walked my bike around for an hour or so admiring the displays. There were several art pieces on temporary display, such as this one.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesAt first I thought this was a victim of the high winds. Phew. It's art.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith KleinLol. Thanks Kathleen.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Topiary in the garden.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rennes has some wonderful architecture, such as this Art Deco masterpiece.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I finally got to Quimper at 6:30, just in time to shower and change for supper. I went to the same restaurant (Bar Iode) as  my last trip to Quimper and very much enjoyed the seafood soup and smoked salmon.

Quimper street musician.
Heart 2 Comment 0
If this looks familiar to CycleBlaze readers, its because Jacquie Gaudet was here just a couple of weeks ago. For more pix of Quimper and other spots in Brittany, check out her journal French Fling.
Heart 0 Comment 3
Jacquie GaudetThanks for the plug, Keith!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith KleinTo Jacquie GaudetYou are welcome. I noticed that you and I have visited many of the same places. If I’d known a year ago that you were going to visit Brittany this year, I wouldn’t have posted many pictures in that journal but said :”Just wait for next year to see Jacquie’s pictures. She is much better at photography than I am”. But I didn’t.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jacquie GaudetKeep posting pictures! I read through your journal from last year noting places to go... One of the reasons I ended up with such a convoluted route.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

I called an early night and was asleep by ten.

Tomorrow the tour really begins!

Today's ride: 13 km (8 miles)
Total: 34 km (21 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0