What? There's More? - Touring DIFFERENTLY - CycleBlaze

October 8, 2022

What? There's More?

I intended the previous page to be the end of the October mini-tour.  I had to change my mind when I started proof-reading the journal entries (a process I quite enjoy) and noticed frequent references to aging.  Things like feeling the need to perform bike tricks to prove I wasn't washed up as a bike rider.  Being envious of the young free spirits at my campsite.  Feeling old compared to the college students at St. Olaf.  Mentioning how, as I age, it hurts more & more after crashing on ice.   Old tent vs. new tent.  Old bike vs. new bike.  (Had I thought about it at the time, I could have used those old versus new things as metaphors for the Old ME vs. the Young ME.  Sadly, I don't recognize my smart ideas until AFTER I've blurted them out.)

I'll tell you right now, all those negative thoughts about age came from somebody else's brain--probably G-2's--not mine.  I don't FEEL old, I don't ACT old, and I don't RIDE old.  Even so, I'm not going to edit out all the things I wrote.  Quite the contrary, I'm going to ADD to them with a story. 

Today, I was out in the 32-degree (freezing) morning for an early bike ride.  "Old people don't ride in this weather," I thought, smugly.

It warmed up quickly, though, and I passed up three 20-something guys on a hill that climbed away from the Vermillion River.  They were riding bikes too.  One of them was walking his bike up the hill and the other two weren't going much faster than he was.  As I passed, I greeted them with a cheerful "hi."

One of them said to the others, "sure, look, he's passing us young guys."

I laughed.

A few seconds later, I wasn't laughing.  "Wait a minute," I thought to myself, "he basically just called me an old guy--not an experienced bike guy, not a cool guy, not a tough guy--just an OLD guy."  I should have turned around and straightened them out.  I may have been older chronologically, but my leg muscles were younger than theirs.

I would not have written about what I discovered while proofreading because I've never liked a lot of pre-tour and post-tour pages on bike touring journals. (Though I don't seem to mind such pages when I'M the guy writing them.)  But the encounter with the young guys was a story too rich to ignore.

Sorry, not ready to check in yet.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Tim McNamaraHey, I work there a couple of times a month!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Tim McNamaraHi Tim, that's cool. I live just three blocks from there, and I walk my dog around the pond behind the place almost every day. If you ever see a YOUNG guy walking his cute pug-black lab mix back there, come on out and say "Hi."
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Dealing With My Bike Touring Attention Deficit Disorder

I do have to make one concession to aging, though.  While I ride one of my bikes almost every single day, I no longer like riding it ALL day.  Three to four hours is about right for me.  That's not because I'm in pain after three or four hours.  Nor is it because I'm worn out.  The sad truth is that I get bored of SITTING, and the fact that I'm sitting on a bike saddle while pedaling does nothing to alleviate the situation.

At some point, I just want to get where I'm going so I can do something else.  Like camp, hike, cook, cartwheel, swim, write, make videos, crank up the tunes, eat animal crackers, climb rocks, veg out on TV movies & Cycleblaze journals, etc.

There was a time when I'd keep pedaling beyond those four hours because that's what I felt was necessary to accomplish at least 50-70 miles per day.  Not no more!  I have to listen to what my brain tells me about my undiagnosed A.D.D.  I'm going to try to stick to about four or five hours of pedaling, no matter how many, or how few, miles I can go in that time.  (Unless there is an emergency and I have to go further, in which case, that's what I'll do.)

Here is a Pink Floyd song that's NOT about me.

    

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Kelly IniguezLast night I tweaked my back something fierce while stretching. Note that I stretch so my back won’t hurt!

There wasn’t any ibuprofen in the house. At the store, I was sweating heavily and leaning to one side as I slowly made my way to the pharmacy section.

Happily, bicycling didn’t hurt. It seems to help. I rode five hours today, and my back is MUCH better.

I fear the day when riding does not work the kinks out.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Kelly IniguezI've noticed the same thing. Even when I have aches and pains that hurt while walking, sitting, standing or sleeping, they never seem to hurt while cycling--and they usually get better.

One year, I tweaked my back by twisting awkwardly while carrying a heavy box. The next day I was to begin my first RAGBRAI. I rode all seven days with no problem, but when off the bike, the pain caused me to hobble around like a Frankenstein monster.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Emily SharpHmmm, that's interesting. I guess I don't sit all the time so I don't mind riding for long periods. Like I sit when climbing a long hill, but then I stnad when I fly down the other side. Or a lot of gravel roads demand some stnading or change of position. And I'm always trying to read the landscape, so I don't get bored. Or, when I do sit for a long time, it's because I'm riding somewhere flat and boring and don't mind riding longer just to get through that bit. I suppose 6 hours often gets broken up by stopping to look at things, too. We'll see what I say when I get to 64!

So is Chef G cooking up a storm? Could you post a link to his site as I had it bookmarked on my old computer but don't have it on my tablet and feel I may have missed some yummy stuff.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Emily SharpTo be honest, I don't know how rigidly I'm going to stick to that four-hour plan and I'm not exactly sure why I wrote about it except, maybe, to make excuses for the relatively short days of 30-35 miles. I really have been feeling a little bored toward the end of my days lately, but that could be due to the fact these mini-tours are all so close to home. Perhaps that will change when I get back to a longer tour in a less familiar part of the country.

Anyway, I do sit most of the time these days. A couple of years ago, I just kind of naturally stopped getting up off my saddle and tucking into the racing position on those big downhills. And (HORRORS!) sometimes I even feather the brakes a little bit when I get up to, like 35-mph. Another symptom of aging, I suspect.

Thanks for asking about Chef G. It's been a busy summer, so I took some time off from my food blog. I do plan to get back to it soon though. I even have a couple of ideas for future posts, including the camp cooking recipe I promised many months ago. Here's the link.

https://chefgcooks.blogspot.com/

Finally, I hope things are going well for you on your big cycling adventure. I look forward to your first update.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonYou’re like a fine wine, getting better with age! At least that’s what I tell myself.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rachael AndersonThanks Rocky. I try to convince myself I'm like a fine wine, but it's a tough sell. In your case, however, it's definitely true.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago