Touring Differently and Posting Differently - Touring DIFFERENTLY - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2022

Touring Differently and Posting Differently

Catching Up to the Wonders of Technology

Technologically speaking, I always seem to be one step behind the times.  Whenever I start thinking I'm getting moderately tech savvy, something comes along to knock me down a notch or two.  

In this case, I was reading somebody's journal recently and the author (whose name I cannot remember) mentioned he was updating his blog nightly with his cell phone and a Bluetooth keyboard.  BLUETOOTH KEYBOARD?  How long have those things been in existence?

For years I have lamented not being able to update my journal from campsites.  I had to go to the library the next day to do that.  When I started carrying a laptop, I still couldn't update due to the fact that public campgrounds rarely have Wifi.  And when 5G smart phone technology became widespread, I still had no desire to write a journal on those little keys on my phone.

This morning I purchased a Bluetooth Keyboard.  I am typing this entry on it right now.  It works great, and I have an exciting sense of confidence that I'll be able to stay up-to-date from all but the most remote campgrounds.  Plus, it's so much smaller and lighter than a laptop or pad.

A major discovery for me: The keyboard only weighs a few ounces, and I'd be carrying my phone anyway.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Suzanne GibsonThat's what I use, too. I find it has to be charged fairly frequently and when the battery is low it does strange things like repeating the last letter for several lines. like thissssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Suzanne GibsonOh oh! Well, I'll deal with that problem when the time comes. In the meantime, I'll try to keep it charged as much as possible. Thanks for the heads up.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

My mini-tour for June begins tomorrow.  I finalized a route yesterday.  I hope you'll join me.  I'll try to be on my best behavior.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Keith AdamsHi Greg-

You may be recalling a conversation I had earlier this week with Suzanne Gibson, in the Comments section on the "Two (more) days, one (more) night" page of my "Dress Rehearsal Mini Tour" journal. We were talking about exactly that subject.

All credit for the idea of a Bluetooth keyboard, however, is more properly directed to Team Anderson. It was they who made the first mention of such things within the sphere of my awareness, making me a mere messenger and distributor rather than originator of Good Ideas.

Whatever the path you traveled to Awareness and EnLIGHTenment, I think you'll be as pleased as I was by the discovery.

Good luck to you on your Summer of Small Tours! I'm looking forward to hours and hours of entertaining reading as you report; you'll certainly get my vote when I'm selected for the Pulitzer Review and Award Committee.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bob DistelbergI don’t know Greg. Technology is a slippery slope. First it’s a Bluetooth keyboard, then a navigation app on you phone, then a Garmin. Where will it all end? Just kidding of course! Looking forward to this next adventure.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith AdamsCome to think of it, I did learn of the Bluetooth keyboard from your journal. Thank you for that. And don't be so modest, messengers can be just as important as originators.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bob DistelbergYou're right about technology being a slippery slope, Bob. First I started carrying a Bluetooth Speaker, now it's a Bluetooth keyboard. What next . . . a Bluetooth derailleur?

There is some good news though. With the keyboard, I no longer have to carry a laptop. And with the speaker, I no longer have to carry a radio. I consider those tradeoffs to be a technological wash. Another bit of good news is that I'm still sticking to my paper maps, and I'll continue to do so until somebody pries them out of my cold, dead hands.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago