****The Covidian - Touring DIFFERENTLY - CycleBlaze

July 19, 2022

****The Covidian

One Last Thing Related to the July Mini-Tour

On the day I got back from this mini-tour, I was feeling lethargic.  The Feeshko and I went out for dinner because I didn't feel like cooking.  That's unusual for me.  Another unusual thing for me was going to bed soon after dinner.  One more unusual thing for me was waking up the next day with a runny nose, an intermittent cough, and a scratchy throat.  I'm a Tough Guy.  I don't get sick--especially in the summer.

I'm not a medical doctor--I'm just a modest bike rider--yet somehow I was 100% certain I had contracted the Coronavirus.  Others have gotten it while on tour recently, so why not me?  A home test kit confirmed my suspicions.

But WHERE?  And HOW?  I was riding alone, camping alone, and I had no contact with other people.  Well, I should say, ALMOST no contact.  I quickly remembered a couple of short, seemingly harmless encounters with humans at the taco truck and the beer store.  

I guess it doesn't really matter where, or how, I might have gotten the virus.  I don't blame anybody but myself.  Like many Americans lately, I've let my guard down.

Fortunately, my symptoms have been embarrassingly mild throughout the duration of my quarantine period. [See footnote]  I thank my vaccines, boosters, immune system, and active lifestyle for that.  In fact, I've been able to go out on short bike rides every day, safe in the knowledge that I could keep hundreds of feet between me and any other people.

Anyway, I simply want to tell anybody reading this:  Be careful out there.

[Footnote] Admittedly, my official quarantine period has one day to go, but I feel completely normal today.  I think I'm out of the woods.  And thank goodness, I haven't infected The Feeshko.  As soon as I saw the positive test, we separated--she's living upstairs, I'm living downstairs.  We wear our masks and go to separate corners whenever invading each other's territory.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 12
Nancy GrahamSounds good Greg. You can only be so careful. I consider myself over-cautious and have never ditched the mask when inside anywhere, but I think it is a mere matter of time before it gets me — and maybe everyone. I am so glad you have weathered it well and that it has been ‘mild’.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Nancy GrahamThanks Nancy. And I think you may be right about Covid hitting everybody at some point.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bill ShaneyfeltJan. I got it despite being shot... Kept to myself in the basement for 2 weeks, going out to ride my bike alone daily.

Embarrassingly mild symptoms. Slightly more cough than normal, slightly more nasal drip than normal, 2 degrees above normal body temp. No other symptoms, only lasted 3 days. Second day wife said go get tested but I said I really felt fine, but she said go anyway... It was positive. A week later, I went back to the drive through testing location and got another positive test.

What I read now is that those who have had covid have a far stronger and longer lasting immunity than the vax and boosters... We shall see, I guess.

Stay tough!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Mike AylingHi Greg
The Winery visit may have been another potential infection site. Good that you only had mild symptoms. I had the worst sore throat that I can remember and I had three jabs
I wear a mask every time I enter a business premises but it is difficult to drink a coffee wearing a mask.
Stay well
Mike
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith KleinHi,
I’ve been jabbed three times, and had Covid three times. Each new infection is milder than the previous, but still. It hasn’t escaped me that the evolution of this bug follows the path we were taught to expect oh so many years ago in microbiology. Maybe Susan Carpenter can back me up on that. Anyway, great trip and I will be awaiting more.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bill ShaneyfeltInteresting. Related to what you said, I called my dentist's office to cancel a teeth cleaning appointment I had scheduled for August 4th. I assumed they didn't want anybody who had Covid within the last couple of weeks. The person who took the call said, "no problem--the new CDC guidelines say you can come in five days after the onset of Covid symptoms as long as you have no fever."

"Shouldn't I wait until I test negative for Covid?" I asked.

"No," she answered without concern, "people are testing negative several weeks after all symptoms have disappeared."

I've been reading that testing after the 5-day quarantine is kind of a waste of time and money.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Mike AylingYes, I've definitely considered the winery as a possible source. Now, after further Covid research, I've learned that it could go further back than that. People can have the virus 2-14 days before they ever develop any symptoms. Damn, I can't be expected to remember EVERY place I've been for the last two weeks.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsYeah. I tested positive two weeks after getting my second booster, but had no obvious symptoms. I had visited (and stayed overnight with) a friend the previous week, who informed me the following Tuesday that he had tested positive and indeed had many symptoms. It's not clear whether either of us exposed and infected the other, or if it was coincidence.

I've definitely gotten quite blase about it at this point. I'll mask if and when asked, as well as in places like grocery stores and other large marts o commerce, but I do not fear to eat indoors at cafes or even bars. When on tour, especially a long tour, your options can be quite limited so what's the alternative?

Glad you aren't any worse off, and that it seems to be passing quickly. Don't give it to The Feeshko. Even if she begs you to.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith AdamsSo far, she hasn't begged me to give her the virus. And despite our precautions, she just tested positive this morning. Her symptoms are pretty mild too, thank goodness.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Gregory GarceauGlad to hear she's not miserable.

I have toadmit, every sniffle I have, and every time I don't have a lot of zip on the bike, it's in the back of my mind: is this covid talking or just one of those days?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Lednar De NallohWell done fighting this nasty virus but you are a tough guy. Lot's of folks succumbing around here but so far none of my local touring club, maybe the outdoors, sun and fresh air we ride in helps. So far I've avoided it, or have I, you never know what's around the corner and life has no guarantees. Wishing The Feeshko al the best.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Lednar De NallohThanks Led, and here's hoping you and your touring club can continue to keep that evil virus at bay.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago