Keeping It DIFFERENT - Touring DIFFERENTLY - CycleBlaze

Keeping It DIFFERENT

The Hard Part Is Keeping It Fresh

Welcome back to Touring DIFFERENTLY, folks.  My name is Greg, and I'm the star of this odd journal of monthly mini-tours.  I'm writing this page in appreciation for those of you who took the time to read the first four chapters.  More than that, I thank you for suspending all sense of good judgement and coming back for more.  I hope to reward your loyalty by making the October mini-tour different in the following ways:

1) A DIFFERENT DIRECTION:  This will be a three-day loop beginning and ending in my driveway, but it won't be like the other three-day loops that began and ended in my driveway.  This time I'll be riding west, and then south.  Think of it as a tour to from Minnesota to Wyoming and then down to Arizona . . . except not as far . . . and with smaller mountains . . . and fewer saguaros.

2) A DIFFERENT BIKE: I'll be riding Son of Bing Bong, my newest and greenest bike.  It's been fun alternating between my two Surlys because I'm starting to better appreciate the subtle differences between them.  Besides being newer and greener, Son of Bing Bong has a slightly more ergonomic frame than The Reckless Mr. Bing Bong.  On the other hand, it's a little slower due to the wider, softer tires.  On the third hand, Son of Bing Bong is more versatile (think gravel) and more athletic.

The Reckless Mr. Bing Bong remembers the glory days when it, too, could dunk a basketball.
Heart 6 Comment 0

3) A DIFFERENT TENT: This will be the first supporting role in a major mini-tour for my old Marmot tent.  In the past, it has served me well while backpacking all over the American west.  But, at nearly 9-pounds, it's pretty heavy to carry on a bike.  The good news is it's a four-season tent and easily my warmest tent, which is comforting considering the unpredictable Minnesota weather.  I've seen an October blizzard here and it was nasty.  The good news is that I know this tent can survive such a weather event.  It happened in Wyoming's Bighorn Mountains--on my July 3rd birthday.  That one only lasted a couple of hours; the October Minnesota blizzard went on for a couple of days. 

It's not likely I'll get a blizzard on this trip, but it's good to be prepared.  My bigger concern is a heavy rain.  The last time I used my Marmot, I noticed a little leakage coming through the rainfly.  I guess even high-end tents get old eventually--just like high end bike tourists.

Below is a picture of the Marmot tent in its prime.  You'll see my Mountain Hardware tent lurking in the background.  That one is a couple pounds lighter, so I chose it to shelter me on my early bike tours.  In turn, the Mountain Hardware tent was replaced last year by an MSR tent, which has some great ultra-light technology.  Still, it's not a cold weather tent. 

As you can see, I consider my tent to be a piece of equipment almost as essential to bike touring as my bike.

The first person who correctly identifies the location of this picture will earn 10 Greg-dollars toward your next purchase of some fine "Touring Differently" merchandise.
Heart 3 Comment 7
Keith AdamsPlanet Earth
North America, west of the Mississippi River

Did I win?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonEastern Washington, maybe somewhere south of Grand Coulee?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith AdamsYou're on the right track, but I need more specificity.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonNice try, but incorrect. According to the rules, you get two more guesses.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Gregory GarceauSorry but if you don't know where you were, I can't really be of much help.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonMojave Desert?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonCorrect! Death Valley to be more exact
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

 4) A DIFFERENT SEASON: Speaking of a warm tent, I think I'm going to need it.  Temperatures start getting pretty chilly here in Minnesota during the tenth month of the year.  Daytime riding could be in the 50-60 degree (F) range.  Nighttime temperatures can get close to freezing.  I can handle that, but I know this will probably be the last month I'll be sleeping in the great outdoors.

If I somehow summon the courage to camp while on my November & December mini-tours, it will be for no other reason than to show off.  It certainly won't be an enjoyable experience.  I've camped in the winter months before and I can tell you that it ain't no fun trying to sleep while bundled up in multiple layers of clothing, with your mouth and nose covered up and your body rigid from contracting all your muscles in order to keep warm.  But never say never.  

(Just now, I remembered one of the few things I learned from my college days.  An English professor taught us to avoid such word as "always,", "never," "greatest," "all," "none," "every," etc., because they are so easily disprovable.  Even so, I use those words all the time.  But I rarely, if ever, say "never say never."  Yet, I DID write "never say never" at the end of the last paragraph, which proves Professor Heldrith's point.)

5) DIFFERENT WRITING: Please excuse me if I brag, lampoon, exaggerate, play the fool, make outrageous claims, contradict myself, and come off as a pompous jackass EVEN MORE THAN USUAL.  That's all I've got going for myself.  I definitely can't count on people to read this journal based on experiences in foreign lands, famous bike routes, exotic coolness, historic knowledge, or extreme adventure.

Here's the kind of thing you can expect.
Heart 4 Comment 0

 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 10
Rachael AndersonI can’t wait for your mini-tour to start!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith KleinHi,
Good call on sleeping out in a Minnesota winter. The only thing I remember about that is that it is warmer under the snow than above it. Still, everything you said about the experience rang true.
On the other hand, you must be the only person on earth who says that his BACKPACKING tent is too heavy for cycle camping. Sheesh, I would have used the light one for the wilderness, and the heavy one strapped to the rear rack. Now the stove I would use for both is more or less the same. All of which is different from canoe camping where one can take a Coleman camp stove and a gallon of white gas, a four person stand-up-inside tent with steel poles and the kitchen sink without being tremendously burdened.
And I always like a good different tour, so as always I’ll be waiting.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith KleinBack when I bought the Marmot, 9-pounds was considered light weight for a 4-season tent. I mostly used it when backpacking in the mountains in case the weather turned foul. I used the lighter tent when backpacking in MN, WI, or the desert states. I sure wish I had my 3 1/3-pound tent back in those days, but such a thing didn't exist.

I've done a little canoe camping too and, yeah, I loved all the little luxuries you can bring along.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bob DistelbergTo Keith KleinI remember a canoe trip we did many years ago that had several fairly long portages around rapids. Our Coleman stove, heavy tent and sleeping bags, and ice chest seemed a lot less fun at that point.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Nancy GrahamWell I ‘always’ say (maybe not always) that there is nothing better than gathering up light weight gear for a journey by foot or by bike. That is why we travel with 100 pounds of light weight gear!

I anxiously await your new chapter and this one different from touring differently ;’-).
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bob DistelbergMost of my canoe travel was on rivers, where portages were almost non-existent (except for one.) I'd definitely go lighter weight when portaging miles between lake to lake.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Nancy GrahamHi Nancy. Well, I've never carried 100 pounds anywhere, but I get what you mean. I just posted my first update from this mini-tour. I hope you check it out.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Emily SharpI think I decided sometime back in my 20s that I did not need a 4-season tent because I was really not a 4-season camper. One trip on my 20th birthday when it was 11-13F each night convinced me that winter camping was pretty much just torture... so I've only ever owned 3-season tents. I remember Marmot tents being the really nice ones back in the 90s - though I've never had any Marmot products. I did have a Mtn Hardware sleeping bag that was very nice though. My tents have been Walrus, REI, North Face and now, MSR. The REI tent was crap, the others have been good. The North Face Tadpole 23 was my favourite out of all of them. I wish they had continued to make it. The thing I don't like about the Hubba Hubba is the pole clips. I wish it had pole sleeves. The clips have a habit of making tiny holes in the tent mesh when packed up and vibrating in the bag. Or at least I think that's what makes all those tiny holes I've gotten in the mesh....
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
George HallHumm.... One of my best friends was a world-class harmonica player and spoke 5 languages. After retiring he sort-of invented his own religion, kind of a new-age thing with Native American beliefs sprinkled in - he led tours to mystical locations and made a bit of money from the "faithful," if that's the correct term to describe his adherents. So I'll be interested in seeing what sort of religion and/or religious philosophy you invent - something associated with bicycles would be good - the "Cycle of Life" ministry perhaps? I'm ultimately seeking cyclist Valhalla, so show me the way.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo George HallThe religion I invented isn't really a religion, it's more of a little joke. It has no official status, no other members, no philosophy other than appreciating the outdoors, and the only ritual is to pee on the ground as often as possible. I think it is best explained on this page:

https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/nocomplaints/a-little-advice-in-strict-accordance-with-the-teachings-of-the-church-of-the-great-outdoors/
Reply to this comment
1 year ago