Different, Delightful, Dangerous & Deficient in Dignity - Touring DIFFERENTLY - CycleBlaze

December 10, 2022

Different, Delightful, Dangerous & Deficient in Dignity

Eagan, Minnesota

After a whirlwind week involving our neverending remodeling project and a trip to Iowa to take my dad to oncology and cardiac appointments, the December mini-tour is finally underway. Not only is it underway, but I'm sitting in a MicroTel micro-room, wondering about the best way to report on the first day. The way I see it, I've got three options: 

1) Play it low-key, as if conducting wintertime bike tours is something I do all the time and is the most normal thing in the world. Maybe I shouldn't even mention the weather.

2) Play up the pain and suffering aspect of riding in a Minnesota winter. Maximize the cold and snow complaints. 

3) Simply tell it like it was--without the lame jokes, without the preposterous claims of being a tough guy, without exaggerating the significance of the religion I invented, and without all the other hyperbole I normally spew.

Since this journal is all about doing things DIFFERENTLY, I've chosen Option #3.  I'll just tell you about the weather, the roads, and my thoughts in the most factual and stoical way possible.

************

First off, I must admit that it wasn't the coldest day possible. The temperature was relatively mild, but at least I got the satisfaction of starting out the day by riding into air that was below freezing. It warmed up to 35-degrees (F) by the end of my ride, and there was some snow melt going on. 

That's not to say it was all puppies and bunnies out there. It was dark and hazy the whole time. I had alternating periods of tiny snowflakes, drizzly rain, and light sleet. (The sleet hardly stung my face at all, that's how light it was.) Interestingly, I was sweating most of the time due to wearing at least one too many layers of clothing. All in all, though, I'd say the weather was quite pleasant for this time of year.

The roads were quite pleasant as well. The first five miles on Highway 55 were busy, but it was well-plowed and not slippery in the least bit. Then I veered onto gravel for a few miles of respite. That was the quietest part of my day. Back up to the highway, I rode through an area filled with heavy industry, including a huge plant that makes feed for livestock, a foundry that melts down scrap metal and turns it into usable metal for all kinds of industries, one of the biggest producers of anhydrous ammonia-based fertilizer in the world, and the upper-midwest's largest oil refinery.

Then I moved onto a bike trail for a couple miles. Then a nice rural road. Then a busier suburban road with a gigantic shoulder. Then a quiet, scenic road into a regional park. Then onto a bike/pedestrian trail that ran alongside another busy suburban road. Then, when the bike/pedestrian trail was packed with unplowed snow, I hopped onto the busy suburban road itself. (That's a lot of "THENs" in one paragraph.)

It's time to catch up with a few photos. I hope they will show the kind of surfaces I was riding on better than I was able to describe them with words.

Busy Highway 55 as I enter a new town.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A few miles of quiet gravel
Heart 5 Comment 0
Careful readers of this journal might recognize the snowy flanks of Mt. Landfill from my October mini-tour. This view is from the opposite side though.
Heart 5 Comment 0
One small section of the industrial area.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The bike trail. (Pictured, from bottom to top: The Reckless Mr. Bing Bong, ME.)
Heart 5 Comment 0
There we are again at a scenic overlook along the bike trail. Wish you were here!
Heart 6 Comment 2
Scott AndersonThanks, but no thanks. Maybe this summer though!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
marilyn swettBrrrrr!!!!!!! I'll take sunny Arizona over that snow any day!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
A deer and a beast of burden along the quiet country road. I saw as many deer today as bike tourists--which is to say, ZERO.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The suburban road with the gigantic shoulder.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I made a little side trip onto a pretty road leading to Lebanon Hills Regional Park.  I sat by Schulze Lake for a while, watching some cross-country skiers and eating string cheese.  Then I did a little hiking on the park's extensive trail system.  Before leaving the park, I felt compelled to build a snowman (or should I say "snowboy") at a nice spot overlooking McDonough Lake.

The beach at Schulze Lake. No lifeguard on duty.
Heart 6 Comment 0
G-2 and the snowboy pose above McDonough Lake.
Heart 8 Comment 2
Scott AndersonI didn’t know Mr. Bing Bong wore glasses!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonIt took me WAY too long to see what you were talking about. Now I can't look at the picture without seeing the glasses.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
This was the slipperiest part of my ride. In this stretch, I saved myself from a fall by instinctively planting my left foot in the snow. It's one of those skills you develop when riding in this part of the country.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Mark BinghamThere seem to be a LOT of footprints in the picture for this time of the year (especially considering how slippery it is). Were there many people out walking on the sidewalk?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Mark BinghamYes, I did see a number of people out walking the trails.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Believe it or not, there are a few things that EVERYBODY should like about touring in cold and snow and ice.  One of them is that there is little urgency to lock up your bike for a quick run into the convenience store.  I can't imagine anybody riding off with an unattended bicycle in this weather.  Bicycle thieves are too lazy for that kind of effort.  I think the month-by-month bike theft statistics will back me up on that.

Another good thing is that this isn't exactly Minnesota's tourist season.  That translates to lower prices and less competition for campsites and motel rooms.  We do get some out-of-state skiers and snowmobilers, but there aren't enough of those tourists to bug me.

Then there are the beautiful landscapes, which cannot be witnessed during the regular cycle touring season.  This is the time of year when trees are so sparse that they hardly block the view at all.  

And I love the whiteness.  White is pure and clean.  Bits of whiteness scattered among the browns and greens of tree branches, roofs and lawns are very pretty, but vast expanses of farm fields fully coated in white are truly something to behold.

Heart 5 Comment 2
Keith AdamsIsn't that one of the spots the Coen brothers used in "Fargo"? If not, it could have been.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith AdamsThat's exactly what I was thinking when I took this photo. Fargo is one of my favorite movies of all time.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
In the summer, those view-blockers would make the lake almost invisible from this spot.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I can also report that drinking water stays nice and cold all day long when riding in the winter.

Finally, cycling on a cold, crisp, frosty day can be very exhilarating.  Exhilarating for the muscles, the lungs, the sinuses, and all five senses.  It can also be deadly for the unprepared.   In case you're interested, the right preparation basically involves covering all of your skin with 2-4 layers of clothing.  It's easy!

Today's ride: 27 miles (43 km)
Total: 583 miles (938 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 12
Suzanne GibsonSometimes I like to ride in the winter, too. Thirty minutes is usually enough, though. And if it's above freezing. I really do think you are a tough guy and love reading about rides I could never take.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezCold water is a priority for me - got a laugh out of your water remark.

Many years ago, I commuted to work year round - studded tires and the whole bit. Back then I used a Camel Bak - it's no fun at all when the water in the hose would freeze!

I do agree that there is a sense of exhilaration to winter riding. I liked riding during a snow storm and hearing the snow crunch under the tires. Plus, it usually wasn't slippery in fresh snow!

A friend and I are working on a potential fall tour mostly on trails in Minnesota. I was wondering if you would look at our route and see if we've made any glaring errors - either in omissions, or picking a bad road. I don't think a link will post here. My email is: kelly.iniguez@gmail dot com - if you would have a chance to look at our route? Thanks
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonYou are amazing! I’ve only biked in the snow a few times but now I’m just a fai weather cyclist. Not to hot, not cold and little or no precipitation.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Suzanne GibsonOf course, I already know you ride in the winter. Hopefully you'll be able to increase your riding time with those new heated pogies.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Kelly IniguezYes, I'll be glad to look at your route and I feel honored that you asked. I will email you tomorrow.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rachael AndersonI'm not so amazing. I'm just a regular guy who does stupid things.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Gregory GarceauThat's WAY better than being a stupid guy who does regular things, though.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Nancy GrahamWhat Rachel said!!!

Good going for you though. I guess it takes growing up there to be deeply able to appreciate all there is to the snow and cold.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Nancy GrahamActually, I grew up in Iowa, but that's close enough, I guess.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith AdamsWell said, Keith.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
George HallYikes! I whined and complained about having a few days of freezing weather on my recent fall tour, but it was nothing compared to you riding in the snow. Back in my working days I did commute in temperatures that were slightly sub-freezing, but that was only for 35 - 45 minutes of exposure. Thanks for showing us that there's really no excuse not to ride.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo George HallThanks, George, but there may be some excuses not to ride. Like the ice storm Minnesota is facing for the next few days. It's even sending shivers through the utility companies and the snow plowing crews of the Minnesota Department of Transportation. It could be a pretty exciting week. I'll play it by ear as to whether I should ride.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago