Back to the Groovy Days of the 1970's - Touring DIFFERENTLY - CycleBlaze

Back to the Groovy Days of the 1970's

A Mini-Tour of Boyhood Nostalgia

Hello again, dudes and chicks.  As the title of this post states, I'm going back in time for this month's mini-tour.  More literally, I'm also going back to Iowa.  That's the humble little mid-western state where I grew up, where I honed my bike riding expertise as a youth, and where my dad still lives.

My dad has cancer, though you wouldn't know it by looking at him.  He looks and acts like an exceptionally healthy 87-year-old dude, and he feels that way too.  He lives independently in the same big 19th-century house he's been living in for five decades.  Even so, he does have to go to an oncology clinic in Cedar Rapids for monthly treatments.  Unfortunately, Cedar Rapids is 70 miles from my dad's town and it's not safe for him to drive that far.  (That became very clear a little over a year ago when he caused a pretty bad accident, which he was lucky to survive.)

That's where I come in.  I've been driving down to Iowa every month to take him to those appointments.  It's a reality that precludes any multi-month bike tours for me, but the good news is that it has provided some great bonding time with my dad.  It has also, in a way, given birth to this idea of local mini-tours.  It's not ideal, but I figure a series of three-day tours is better than no tours at all.  Can you dig it?  Right on!

************

Here's where my ingeniousness comes in.  Since I'll be in Iowa anyway, I conceived a groovy plan to take my September mini-tour there. [See Footnote]  Basically, that plan involves extending my visit to include a couple days of riding in the land of my youth--what I like to call "the old country."  The land of agricultural enchantment.   The land where few bike tourists--or any other tourists--dare to go.  (Or care to go.)  I might even be able to debunk some more "Iowa is boring" myths as I've done on a couple of previous tours.  It'll be far out, man!

More specifically, my groovy plan is to explore some cool territory around and between the town of Oelwein, where my dad lives, and Iowa's oldest and grooviest state park.  That would be Backbone State Park.  My folks took me and my brothers there several times--not only from Oelwein, but also from the smaller town of Dyersville, where we lived previously.  I was in the 9 to 17-year-old bracket back then.  NOW is the time for another visit.  I'll be heading out next week.  Please join me . . . it should be a blast.

I sure had a blast riding my bike in those days.
Heart 11 Comment 0

 

I STILL have a blast riding my bike.
Heart 11 Comment 0

************

[Footnote:]  In case you're wondering, there is nothing in the Official Book of Mini-Tour Rules that requires me to begin and end every trip from my own home.  Quite the contrary, this journal is based on the very idea of touring differently.  Accordingly, this chapter will be different from the others.  The writing will be different.  The roads will be different.  The scenery will be different.  I will be different.  The plants and animals will be different because Iowa's corn, cows, and pigs are the world's best.  Iowa itself is different.

Most different of all will be the population profile.  Once I leave Oelwein, my route will take me through nine towns with a combined population of 3,700 residents.  That's seriously different from last month's mini-tour in the Minneapolis-St. Paul metro area.  For comparison purposes, I utilized some skills obtained from a freshman level statistics class in college and came up with an interesting ratio of peoplehood:  1:810

You got it--that's almost 1,000 metro Twin Citians for each northeast Iowan on my route.  Oh man, that's radical!

I painstakingly devised this route to include all of the charming towns and major tourist attractions this region has to offer.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 18
Scott AndersonThat is an interesting ratio, alright: 3,700/9 = 810? How did you do in that freshman level statistics class, just out of curiosity?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonI think I only got a "B." Maybe I would have gotten an "A" if I wouldn't have used such a simplistic formula as 3,000,000 divided by 3,700.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bob DistelbergFar out. I'm all about the 70's.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bill ShaneyfeltGroovy! I lived just across the river from IA in Savanna, IL two different times for a total of 12 years, and one of my daughters was born in Clinton, IA. Ran a lot of races in the late 70s-early 8os in the eastern part of IA.
Should be a fun different tour
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich HarrellYou are a very good man, Mr. Garceau.
Looking forward to your tour, and even tho Im in Illinois, Iowa is one great enjoyable state.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith KleinHi,
Perhaps you should comment on the friendly rivalry between Iowa and Minnesota so those from elsewhere can appreciate your proselytizing for the Hawkeye State.
I have visited Iowa many times and I can see it’s obvious charms. I did notice that in traveling from Oelwein to Maynard you pass both 60th and 100th streets. My quest for you is to verify that there are fourty streets between them ( well, 39 actually. The end points of a series are not counted to determine what’s between them). Yes, I took statistics in college, too. If there are not 39 streets, well why? Inquiring minds want to know. And stop in a winery if you should stumble upon one.
« How’d y’a get that shiner Moe? I stumbled across a winery ».
Anyway, have a splendid time.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
marilyn swettLooking forward to following you on your little trek across the corn and bean fields of Iowa! You'll be biking not far from where we were a month ago. Iowa is another state that surprised us and is one we'll note as a "must return to" in the future!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bob DistelbergIt really was a great and groovy decade.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bill ShaneyfeltI have some familiarity with both Savannah, IL and Clinton, IA. I also know enough about eastern Iowa to be able to say you were racing in the hilly part of the state.

And yes, I think it'll be a fun tour. I hope I can find a few strange plants to identify. I heard you need the work. Ha!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rich HarrellOf all the people here on Cycleblaze, I knew YOU would recognize a great and enjoyable state. Iowa and Illinois and Minnesota are like close brothers. Wisconsin, as you know, is the wicked stepsister. LOL
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith KleinIowa has some wineries, but it's not likely I'll come across one on this trip--unless there is such a thing as corn wine. If so, I COULD come across a hidden distillery that produces some kind of strange concoction between wine and whiskey.

I will count the streets between 60th and 100th, and I might use your idea of expanding on the Iowa-Minnesota rivalry. There are actually some pretty funny jokes out there, and they come from both sides of the debate.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo marilyn swettIowa is so much more than corn and beans. Right now, I can't think of what that is but, for sure, there is more. I will report on the state's excellence in a few days.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
George Hall"The land where few bike tourists--or any other tourists--dare to go. (Or care to go.)"

Well - maybe I'm weird too, but I liked Iowa a lot on my Northern Tier adventure last year. I especially liked Donna, owner of the bar in Oxford Junction, who arranged for us to stay inside in the civic building instead of camping out in miserable conditions! That plus cycling past the Field of Dreams made for good memories of Iowa. I checked and our route last year is very close to the eastern end of your circuit. So I think you will have a far-out experience on this tour.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo George HallThanks George, and yes, I forgot to mention how nice the people of Iowa are. I lived in Dyersville for three years--well before the Field of Dreams existed. My field of dreams was the Little League field at the city park, where I spent many, many, many hours playing baseball--not only in league play, but also in near-daily pick-up games with my friends.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Paul MulveyFar out, man! I totally dig your groovy tour and am hip to the route!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonYea! I look forward to following your mini-tour!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Paul MulveyI already knew you were a hip and cool dude. Sorry it took so long for me to respond to your message. I hope you have a blast on your Katy Trail tour.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Paul MulveyAnd I also hope Amtrak is up and running and cooperates with your plans.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago