A Whole New Concept In Wine Reviews - Touring DIFFERENTLY - CycleBlaze

A Whole New Concept In Wine Reviews

I know I left you with a cliffhanger at the end of the last page.  I know you couldn't wait to see what I did to kill that last hour in downtown Cannon Falls.  I also know I'm a master of suspense, but maybe not so much of a master that I didn't take the precaution not to give it all away in the title of this page.

My intent was to kill that hour with the enjoyment of a nice, delicious, freshly brewed ale at the Tilion Brewing Company.  Alas, that establishment is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays.

What's up with the short hours of operation, Tilion?
Heart 0 Comment 1
Keith KleinGorgeous building.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

It might surprise you to know that a famous bike touring wine reviewer like me actually prefers beer over wine, but that's how it is.

I felt bad that I had to take my business across the street to the Cannon River Winery, but not too bad, because it gave me the idea to conduct a mini-wine review.  Get ready . . . here it comes.

The open-air entrance was very inviting. I bet they never expected to open it up like that in November.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I parked Son of Bing Bong and went inside.  It was a foreign environment to me.  I didn't want to make a fool of myself, so I studied the wine menu for several minutes before ordering.  I was still confused when I finally made a totally random selection.  I went with something called "Gunflint White," mainly because I love the Gunflint Trail which leads into the Boundary Waters Wilderness Canoe Area of northern Minnesota.

I took my glass over to a high gloss wooden table.  I made myself comfortable and prepared for the tasting.

First, I had to examine the wine for clarity and swirlability because that's what wine reviewers do. It passed both tests with flying colors.
Heart 3 Comment 0
According to the menu, the Gunflint White was supposed to have hints of apricot, peach and pineapple.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My taste buds detected hints of honey, White Castle sliders, and cattails.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonInteresting combination!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Overall, I thought the wine had a nice mix of goodness and badness, of life and death, of passion, of rebelliousness.

"I rebel, therefore I exist."  -Albert Camus

"Talking nonsense is the sole privilege mankind possesses over the other organisms.  It's by talking nonsense that one gets to the truth." -Fyodor Dostoyevski

"I talk nonsense, therefore I'm a rebel." -G-2

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Keith Klein« Man is the only animal that blushes, or needs to. » Mark Twain

Great review. Keep ‘‘em coming.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith KleinThanks, Keith, I fully intend to keep up my quest for finding and reviewing the finest wines in the world. (Or, at least, the United States. Okay, at least the midwestern U.S.)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonI love the Dostoyevski quote but unfortunately I think that a lot of mankind has missed the part about getting to the truth.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago