A bamboo forest? In Alabama? - Silver Comet Express - CycleBlaze

April 6, 2018

A bamboo forest? In Alabama?

I have a big day ahead of me so I'm up and heading over to the gas/convenience store next door for coffee. Thankfully, I pass the lobby and see they have some coffee and pastries laid out. So, I partake (saved me a few $) and then I hit the road by 6:30. It's a challenge because I know I'll be riding about 90 miles today, and with a fully-loaded touring bike. The route I'm taking has me riding due east before cutting north since I have to go around the Anniston Army Depot.

Heading out from Pell City from my motel room
Heart 2 Comment 0

For the first 4 miles or so, traffic is light (with some early-birds heading into work) and I get to ride along the river. Then, it's just like any other route making a beeline for the next destination. A little over an hour, I get to make my left-hand turn to cut over to Rt. 202 which brings me into Anniston. Once I approach Anniston, I'm on a 4-lane divided highway (Rt. 202) thankfully with a large shoulder. And MUCH less smashed glass.

The first few miles along Rt. 78 were pleasant, riding along the Cross river
Heart 1 Comment 0

I make my way on some backroads to get off the highway and ride through some broken-down neighborhoods and wonder how they got to be so "destitute." Thanks to Google, I found out it has fallen on hard times since the army base (Fort McClellan) closed in 1995. It's a shame to see such disrepair on some of the streets - there was a corner I passed by which had three businesses all closed down - a former gas station, what looked like a former pharmacy with a drive-thru window, and a chicken place, which has since fallen victim to a fire (since the link to Google street view shows it as closed prior to my passing, I presume the fire was arson).

Family Median income about 60% of the national average in Anniston
Heart 0 Comment 0

There is a bright spot in the middle of the city, and that's the Freedom Rider's National Park. It commemorates the events on May 14, 1961, as a Greyhound bus was attacked as it arrived in Anniston. It was later fire-bombed as it made its way out of the city. Complete history at the Freedom Riders National Monument

The Freedom Riders National Park memorial in Anniston. Hard to believe people wanted to kill each other just because of their skin color
Heart 3 Comment 0

With some more two-wheeled travel, I make my way onto the Chief Ladiga trail! The start of over 91 miles of car-free adventure!

By 9:50, I had 35 miles done and rolled onto the Chief Ladiga trail
Heart 1 Comment 0

Just south of Weaver, I pass by a bamboo forest adjacent to the trail. A sign invites you in, as well as stating cameras are watching your actions (probably put there by the homeowners, or maybe Facebook....). I chat with another trail-user, this one on a longboard. He gives me a good 10-minute history of the trail, longboards constructed of bamboo, the tornado that rolled through Jefferson State University, and his association with the university. It's great to hear local history and insight.

And then, just south of Weaver, was the bamboo forest. Totally seemed out of place but was a nice diversion right on the trail
Heart 3 Comment 0

Well, my friend at the bamboo forest was not incorrect - it looked like the tornado targeted the dormitories in the university. Damage was all over the place. Looking up the history, you can find more pics and twitter feeds here. I felt as though I traveled from one broken-down area to another, and am awed at the power Mother Nature can unleash on these buildings and trees.

About 3 week’s prior to the trip a tornado rolled through the Jefferson State University campus destroying most of the dormitories and some of th campus buildings
Heart 0 Comment 0
Riding alongside a creek on the Chief Ladiga
Heart 0 Comment 0

If I wasn't racing to get into my hotel room in Rockmart, I would have liked to explore Piedmont a little more. Piedmont is where the Chief Ladiga trail project started in 1988 after the rail lines announced they were closing this right-of-way in 1987. The trail goes past the town a few blocks away from Main St, but close enough that you can ride over and support the local businesses. There's a "Bob Eubanks" welcome center where I picked up some free snacks on the porch and had a conversation with the volunteer about some other trail riders. He was real concerned that I stay safe.

By 12:50 I rolled into Piedmont with about 28 more miles to go
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had Mexican food on my mind as well as a Margarita. So I was racing for the hotel room as I crossed over the border into Georgia and Eastern Time Zone.

With the Chief Ladiga under my wheels, I cross into Georgia. And change into the eastern time zone. Now 3:37 and about 25 miles to go
Heart 1 Comment 0
A quick stop at the Cedartown depot to refill water before the final 13-mile push to Rockmart
Heart 1 Comment 0


Today's ride: 90 miles (145 km)
Total: 136 miles (219 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0