Cumberland, MD to Rockwood, PA - Pittsburgh Wasn’t There, Yet - CycleBlaze

October 3, 2021

Cumberland, MD to Rockwood, PA

Day 5

 Day 5 Sunday 10/3/21

   There is much discussion about the steepness of the GAP up past Frostburg. The trail runs parallel to the Maryland Scenic Railroad. To me, it isn’t that steep. I drop one gear and pedal up. While I am on a bench rehydrating, the Maryland Scenic Railroad rolls by. Lisa and Jon text me saying I looked very relaxed--they took an off day and were riding the rails.

     I make my way up to Frostburg and attempt to put more air in my rear tire. The public pump lets all the air out and will not replace it. A CO2 cartridge takes care of my flat, saving me the trek up the hill to Frostburg proper. The GAP trail is proving even more scenic than the C&O, with expansive views, bridges, tunnels and the changing leaves adding to the drama.

Heart 2 Comment 0

I too chug along over a continental divide, down into Rockwood and the Gingerbread House B&B.

  The porch of the B&B is filled with old friends who had been biking together for years. They share pizza with me from the gas station, which isn’t bad. There aren’t many dining options in Rockport on a Sunday night. Rob, the chief organizer, is making a film about their friendship and their exploits over the decades. The owner's son stops by and says the house is for sale; there aren't any takers.I hit the hay early.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0