Conclusion - Pittsburgh Wasn’t There, Yet - CycleBlaze

Conclusion

    The two trails were great. The weather was great. I was lucky to be off the trail the few times the skies opened up. I feel my C&O to GAP route was the right choice because the route got better as I rode along. I went from river and canal views to railroad tunnels, bridges, rivers and valleys views. Although iconic DC would be a nice ending.

  I wish I had more time because DC, Harpers Ferry, Antietam (which is north of Harpers Ferry) and Ohiopyle require further exploration. A rest day would have been nice. I moved around some of my overnights due to availability of accommodations and advice I gleamed as the ride progressed. There are numerous ways to experience these trails: camping, B&Bs, canal houses and hotels. Food and the amenities are there but sometimes the choice is limited.

  The trail is mostly a no-brainer navigation wise. The Allegheny Trail Conference map at GAPtrail.org had all the navigation info needed.

Heart 1 Comment 0

I used Horshack’s route on RideWithGPS to guide me through McKeesport. My download will now do the same with Dan’s short, safe way to the Pittsburgh Point.

  My little adventure would not have been possible without the support of my wife Cathy, my sister Susan, her husband Richard and my pals Tom and Paula. Jon and Lisa, who I met on the trail, were great company and kept me from feeling lonely. Lisa laughed at all my jokes. On these rides, I find the real gems are the people you meet, the chance encounters, the casual conversations with the added benefit of traffic-free, easy riding in a beautiful setting. I am a lucky man. None of this would be possible without the organizations that built and maintain these trails. Thank you.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Glenn HintonNice conclusion.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago