07/29/23 Priest River, ID to Cusick, WA - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

July 29, 2023

07/29/23 Priest River, ID to Cusick, WA

Heart 0 Comment 0

I fell asleep almost immediately in spite of my predicament, it’s comfortable inside my tent. I was able to get my tire back on in the morning, with plenty of struggle, but ultimately it just slipped on and I don’t really know how I did it.  I hope I don’t get the practice to learn but fear I shall if I don’t replace my tires soon.  The rear tread is wearing down very quickly.

I briefly considered going back to Priest River for the party weekend, but was more in fret-about-my-bike mode. I found a hardware store and bought a 6mm hex bit, socket driver and some epoxy.  My plan in the event of a front flat will be to pound and epoxy the bit into the axle and use the socket driver to control it.  Might work, and it gives me some piece of mind.  

There wasn’t anything to hold me in Newport, not even a decent restaurant for breakfast, but my portable charger was down to one bar so I hung out in McDonald’s for a few hours while charging my devices. Turns out that the McGriddle isn’t a bad breakfast after all!

I didn’t have a lot of choices on where to go if I wanted to avoid looking for roadside sleeping options, and there are enough don’t tread on me flags around that I don’t fancy trespassing. I opted for the fairgrounds in Cusick, water and power and as near as I can tell, free.  

Newport, Washington did not grab me
Heart 0 Comment 0
But I did discover the convenience of McDonald’s there
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was so hot today that snow seemed inconceivable
Heart 0 Comment 0
The scenery was meh leaving Newport. It got better but I didn’t take any pictures
Heart 0 Comment 0
I swear there was a chick sticking it’s head up until I pressed the shutter
Heart 1 Comment 0
Usk, Washington
Heart 0 Comment 0
A logging town
Heart 0 Comment 0
And also home to a bitcoin mine
Heart 0 Comment 0
The containers hold liquid cooled computers
Heart 0 Comment 0
Power hogs
Heart 0 Comment 0
Camping with power
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 25 miles (40 km)
Total: 2,887 miles (4,646 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0