06/19/23 Chimney Rock to Wolf Creek Pass - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

June 19, 2023

06/19/23 Chimney Rock to Wolf Creek Pass

Heart 0 Comment 0
Current position
Heart 0 Comment 0

Chilly morning, had crackers with peanut butter for breakfast and set off for something more substantial in Pagosa Springs.  I passed the turn off to Chimney Rock National Monument, a decision which I will regret but not today.  After only a few miles I came upon a small store and got a coffee and donut, which was a nice unexpected treat.  US 160 is really busy. There’s a nice wide shoulder so it’s not tense riding, but there are so many cars that it just gets plain loud.  Pagosa Springs itself was a construction nightmare, I didn’t spend long there.  Picked up some supplies for tonight, had brunch and then left. Noisy though it was, the road was absolutely gorgeous, I would often have to stop and stare.  I don’t know if it’s the green, or the water or the mountains or the temperature, but all combined it was a sensory delight. I enjoyed today.  I’ve seen the grade for tomorrow’s climb over the pass and it does not frighten me.  My funk is gone.

Another day of riding the green
Heart 0 Comment 0
Historic Downtown Pagosa Springs was full of cars and construction
Heart 0 Comment 0
All necessities found to the left
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pretty flowers everywhere, my pictures don’t do justice
Heart 0 Comment 0
Several single lane construction clogs, but the shoulder was free so not bad
Heart 0 Comment 0
Internet tubing getting installed
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tomorrow’s ride comes into view
Heart 0 Comment 0
Camping at the base of the hill
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 1,077 miles (1,733 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0