06/03/23 Lake Roberts to Gila Hot Springs - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2023

06/03/23 Lake Roberts to Gila Hot Springs

The downhill leg was extremely steep, I have anxiety about climbing back
Heart 0 Comment 0

Nobody bothered me at the picnic spot last night, but I should have pitched my tent,  getting cold in the wee hours.  It was a bear of a climb up from Lake Robert’s, again in my lowest gear most of the way, stopping frequently. Followed by an even steeper downhill that I will have to climb back up to get out of here, the prospect of which I find naggingly terrifying. The campground with the hot springs was full, but I paid for a soak before going down the road a bit to the RV park. There are better spots further on, but I plan to visit the store tomorrow and don’t want to have to commute. 

There’s a fire burning to the north and the air is full of smoke.  The fire isn’t a concern, apparently natural and being watched, but the smoke is blurry the vistas.

Smoke is in the air
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Learning history from roadside markers
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was able to read it all in spite of the data dropouts
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fucking Second Amendment
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 19 miles (31 km)
Total: 450 miles (724 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0