Off to Chile: Escaping the cold - Cycling Chile - CycleBlaze

January 2, 2018

Off to Chile: Escaping the cold

After 2 great weeks of visiting friends and family in eastern Canada during one of the coldest holiday seasons on record I am finally escaping to a warmer climate for a Chilean cycling adventure. I fly to Santiago late on the 2nd arriving midday on the 3rd. To keep fit and avoid gaining too much weight I took several very good spin classes and carried on with my weight training. Here’s hoping I have not lost too much of my cycling fitness since my last serious road ride was 3 weeks ago and it was only 50km. The cycling begins on the 5th once we all get to Temuco. In the mean time I will use the time to tour about Santiago and to adjust to the time change. Despite warmer temperatures in Toronto there was still a problem with the flight. The potable water line froze and it took 4 hours to sort it out. At one point we deplaned and needless to say the pasaaengers were less than amused. Good thing it is my custom to add extra time before the main part of my trip because it not only allows me time to get my wits about me before I am on my bicycle in a foreign land but also for fiascos like this.

Map of the area we will ride, the lakes and mountain region between Temuco and Puerto Montt.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Spin class instructor who kept me fit over the holidays.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The outdoor temperature on 31 December 2017 as I drove to my last spin class. I can’t wait for the warmer weather.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mr Darcy and I are in the YYZ lounge awaiting our flight and not a moment too soon for some warm weather.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0