Valparaiso in picture. - Northbound from Argentina through Brazil - CycleBlaze

April 29, 2011

Valparaiso in picture.

To begin with, a few works: I have been in Valparaiso for a week in which I've been feeling under the weather. I cannot say if I drunk impure water or it was something I ate but there has been nights when I didn't sleep because of the constant need to go to the toilet. It has been handy to know the location of toilets in town too. I have been lucky to find a good hostel on Cerro Concepcion. The day after I arrived was "Good Friday" the beginning of the Easter weekend and on that day it pour with rain. I ventured out in the afternoon, when it had eased off somewhat, down to the supermercado from which I ate a ready cooked lunch siting in a muddy because of the rain park in front. The town appeared a depressing place in the grey gloom. Saturday I felt ill. Sunday Is feeling much better and went sightseeing. Because of the Easter holiday I waited till Wednesday when I took an hour and 40 minutes bus trip to Santiage where there is a whole street of Bikeshops, Ave San Diego, across the main thoroughfare (Alameda) from the Goverment Palace, La Moneda, where Is sure to find good replacement tyres for the worn ones on my bike. I bough two Maxxis Overdrive which are wide and easy to work with. I wanted to leave yesterday, Thursday, but Is feeling ill again. I feel alot better today and tomorrow, Saturday I'll be glad to be back on the bike; hopefully.

From a view-point showing sea-mist which is clearing in the early afternoon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Colourful houses on Cerro Concepcion.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wall art.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The port.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Turn-around at the port.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from my hostel roof.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cerro Concepcion.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View-point. Cerro Concepcion.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wall art in an alley.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A Valparaiso landmark.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Taking a breath of air.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Walking up the hill: looking back at the view.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
"Hee hee hee. There's more of us dogs than humans in this street."
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Calle Alleman.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Notice bike on ledge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Downtown on a Sunday.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Freight ship in port.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hem!
Heart 0 Comment 0
His Holiness with an Easter message perhaps.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0