Time for making my mind up. - Northbound from Argentina through Brazil - CycleBlaze

April 2, 2011

Time for making my mind up.

The original plan when I'd gotten to Punta Arenas was to continues North to the town of Puerto Natales which is the gateway to the "Torre del Paine" national park: that plan still stands. The problem is the weather; it can be foul enough in Summertime(Dec to Feb here in the Southern Hemisphere), now it's awful. I have spoken with travelers that have just returned from the park and they say there was two foot of snow in places.

The National Park is one of the main hiking destinations in southern Patagonia and I plan to do a 5 day hike there. The Park entrance-fee is expensive and so is everything else, but, at this time of year, I've been told, apart from the entry-fee all the campsites are free as their administration offices are now shut for the season. And, in Summer, such is the Park's popularity, that the marked trails are supposed to be pretty crowded, so I also benefit from there being less people.

The past week I've had an easy-time updating the journal and talking with other travelers in the hostel I'm staying at. This is my third visit to Punta Arenas so I didn't need to be doing any sight-seeing. I always come back to the same hostel, Hostel Independencia, not far from the centre. It's also possible to camp in the garden which I've done on previous stays but now it's cold enough for me to a appreciate a warm bed indoors which isn't that much extra, it being 2500pesos (£3) to camp and 5000pesos (£6) to sleep indoors and breakfast is an extra 1000 (£1.25) which is excellent value. Edwardo the host makes ommelet seasoned with garlic: the bread he puts on the hot stove-top until it is crisp and delicious on the the outside while soft and warm on the inside.

The breakfast and the hospitality is too good. I will be thinking of the warmth and comfort when I'm out on the road on the way to the Park. And I've sat down this week too to think of the way ahead after my hike. I was for crossing over into Argentina and cycling North overland, but that option no longer looks so attractive, so I'm considering taking the sea-route, a passenger ferry from Puerto Natales, better known as the NaviMag.

Sun 3th April.

I had done all yesterday with getting the bike ready for the road again and was ready to set-off this morning. Is awake before eight and could hear the distant peel of a church bell and was thinking what better day to leave a city than on a Sunday; then, I pulled the curtain back and glanced out the window to see that it was raining. So I'm here in Punta Arenas yet another day.

The weather here is the problem as it's wet and cold most days now at this time of year. I would need a week-ten-days to get to the National Park and do the hike which I don't thinks going to happen. An English traveller staying here in the hostel, mentioned at breakfast, that he is taking a bus to Puerto Montt which is a city a long way North of here and hence a chance of better weather. I'm quite tempted to take that bus too if it's wet again in the morning. I'll keep you updated on what happens.

Later.

Well, I've been out in the rain and along to where I could inquire about buses and the bus North is once a week leaving in the morning at nine, so as not to be here another week, I booked a seat. And the booking clerk assured me there wouldn't be any problem taking a bike.

I haven't taken many photos while here. Included below are some shots from March 2010.

This romantic couple were in the plaza.
Heart 0 Comment 0
10 minutes ago there were blue skies: interesting wall mural though.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A corner of the plaza.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The cemetary.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the late 19th century the Braum family were the wealthiest in the region. In the 1980s their decendants gave the house to the Chilean state which opened it as a museum.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0