The humidity - Northbound from Argentina through Brazil - CycleBlaze

November 9, 2010

The humidity

Its turned out nice again. This morning after a downpour.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Monday 8th Nov.

The hot weather continued today. I used up the better part of the morning up-dating the journal. The better part indeed as when I'd finished it was too warm to do much of a physical nature. I had thought to check over the bike and go through my gear ready for getting on the road in the morning, but decided to chill out instead which means not do very much, meaning in all likelihood I'll be here to Wednesday.

The plan which may change is to cycle North to the Itaipui dam and so cross over into Paraguay. I think there's actually a National Park or two in the East of the country but I don't Know. I will just play it by ear. I've heard there are Jesuit ruins on that side anyway which maybe worth a look. I will probably recross the Parana river to the city of Posadas back in Argentina and continue South. It seems I have missed the season. I will however if I remain motivated bus it back up here and continue North through Brazil in the cooler months next year as my experience so far has been of warm hospitality from the people and there remains places I'm curious to see.

It is fine while the bike is moving keeping cool unless you are riding uphill, which there are alot of in Brazil, where you are forced to slow sufficiently that the sun is concentrate on you and there's little air circulation for cooling. It is not fine either when wild camping for many nights in a row after such warm days and not having the possibility of showering in the evening. It is horrible to have dry sunburned skin usually on the lower legs with sweaty pores as a result of being unwashed which quickly lead to itchy irritation, prickly heat, I think it's called. It is a bit like being itchy after Mosquito bites.

I spent the afternoon sat in the shade where it was still uncomfortably warm reading a Penguin Classic paperback. The print is very small which brings to light another problem, the strong glare of the sun. Even in the shade the print looked hazy and it was hard keeping my eyes open to follow. At one stage I just closed my eyes and slept a while waking feeling groggy needing coffee or some kind of stimulation. I know a few weeks ago I complained it wasn't warm enough or grey all the time. Eventually I got up and went indoors sitting in a common area which was much cooler and I could see again

Tomorrow morning I will be preparing everything to get on the road on Wednesday. I've got to take lots of cash with me as I cannot use my card in Brazil nor in Paraguay either.

Tue 9th Nov

I sit now in the veranda of the hostel at a quarter to ten. Presently the rain is lashing down heavily. It had been a dull morning and an electric storm had been brewing. It got darker and a member of staff went around putting on the outdoor lights in the veranda as it was getting like night. A strong wind began to sway the treetops bringing leaves floating to ground. There was a flash followed by a loud bang and rip of thunder. The rain then came down so heavily you would be soaked to the skin in an instant if you ventured out.

This morning I did get clothes washed but I cannot see them drying today. The morning when it's cool, the best time to do things, well, It's difficult doing anything in my room as I share with two Israeli guys and two Israeli girls which are out till all hours consequently they're still under blankets in the room at this time. I could just put the lights on but I wouldn't like doing that.

To finish off I've up louded a couple of photos I took inside the visiter centre in the National Park on Sunday. I really like old photos of people so I could not resisted snapping one of a group of German imigrants to Argentina circa 1890.

They came looking for a better life.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Guaranies are the original inhabitants of the area and their language and culture still lives on.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0