The 1990s: I, a creative courier. - Northbound from Argentina through Brazil - CycleBlaze

July 26, 2010

The 1990s: I, a creative courier.

After returning from France, I did a number of odd jobs before beginning in April 1989 as a cycle courier for Mayday Express, an outfit on London's Southbank. My first day ofcourse was a shambles. I remember being up by Saint Pauls Cathedral and not having a clue whether I's coming or going. I'd to learn to use a 2way radio too. Though I need'n of worried as I soon took to the routine and became quite creative at navigating the most direct route from pick-up to drop[pick-up package from client and deliver or drop}. Soon I won the trust of the controller guy screeming through the radio all day long and would be fed, ie given a lot of jobs at once, for example, 32 was my callsign and the jobs were identified by delivery postcode ie London East Central two or EC2. The clients were identify by numbers too, acount numbers. So a usual radio exchange on a busy day while I frantically weaved through traffic could sound something like this -3-2-3-2-acount721-for-2-EC4s-4-EC2s-and-an-E1,-call-me-POB-with-5,-there-will-be-more. {POB parcel on board} This, with an exception of a lull after lunchtime, would go on all day long and it was a very hectic work inviroment. It was an adrenilen rush and for that reason I injoyed it. I worked my way through a number of companies finally working for Creative Couriers. Meanwhile my Summer holidays where cycletours in France, Central Europe and Scandinavia reaching the Northcape, the most northern point in mainland Europe in 1998. During these years I was a racing cyclist too, often getting up at 6am to train before work and taking part in a midweek circuit race after work. So life was indeed hectic.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0