Stock take: What's in the bags. and other matters. - Northbound from Argentina through Brazil - CycleBlaze

August 2, 2010

Stock take: What's in the bags. and other matters.

What will be in the bags. The yellow drybag on the trailer will contain a Doite Himalaya2 tent. Ground sheet cut from the floor of old tent. Roll mat, Small bag of spare tools ie spare mini-pump, pedalspanner, a few nuts and bolts for the rack. Samsung notebook. Small tubberware container containing camera charger and battery charger, spare glasses, UBS stick. 4 larger tubberwares one will contain stoves, pan-set, leatherman and headtorch a second wil contain my dairies pens and reading book, the other two for storing dry food.

The red Orliebs. The left will contains my sleepingbag, toiletry bag and travel towel. The right, off the bike clothes includings shoes. Spare cycling jersey, jogging tights for cold days, thermal vest. Underwear, spare socks.

The dry-bag on the rack. Doite down jacked. Rain jacket and trousers. Warm fleece. The spare tyres ride on top of Bob.

Yesterday while out on the ride I was checking the kilometres count on the new computer with the count on the kilometre-boards at the roadside. I had done a standard calibration for 700c by 38 listed in the table in the instructions. It was soon apparent though that either the Kilometre-boards were inacurate or the computer. If the later it would mean being two and a half kilometres out per 100kms covered, a calculation I came up with as the kilometre increased by one 200metres after the board to begin with and this number gradually increased to 500 at 20km. So for example, the actual count on the computer was 81kms but the right total distance was perhaps around 83kms.

The weather has turned cold again this week with more snow which is quite unusually in Salta and the cold winter has attracted mush media attention nationwide with -14 in Bariloche. I've included some photos of the road the previous time it snowed, Saturday 17th of July, the day I arrived which incidently happened to be my birthday. It was the last day I rode loaded up and in a day I'll be riding again so perhaps I can use them to close with. I hope that my journal will be both an easy and an enjoyable read. The road in the pictures is old route 9 north of Salta to San Salvador de Jujuy. I've cycled it many times. The traffic volume is low as trucks and other large vehicles are barred and deverted to the autopista alternative via the town of General Guemes, perhaps because its narrow and for a long stretch it meanders and has a low cannover of overhanging trees. A fact which means its only used by local and tourist traffic. On the way the pretty colonial village, La Caldera 24kms out of the city has a few small restuarants serving regional fare but unfortunally are only open at the weekend, feast days, and nation holidays.

Finally, On my final day I've walked the streets and taken photos which I'd like to share.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice photo of Salta cathedral.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0