San Julian - Northbound from Argentina through Brazil - CycleBlaze

February 24, 2011

San Julian

After five days off the bike it was time to get going again, but my tent in the morning feels so comfortable that I cannot bare thinking of moving. In the days off I've done the normal maintenance to the bike. Ian gave me a little petrol for washing the chain and cassette; usually I just use soapy water, but petrol is so much better. I binned the MSR windshield I used for my alcohol stove as it's hopeless especially when windy. In it's stead I bough a cheap aluminum sauce-pan with a capacity of 1.8 litres; I place the alcohol stove inside it, and it not only makes a good windshield but, conducts the heat in a way that the water boils in half the time than hitherto.

There are a few things to see in San Julian. There are excursion boat-trips to see Penguins which I gave a miss as it's expensive and in any case I see enough wildlife. And there is a replica of Magellan's ship which landed at this spot in 1520. It only took a few minutes to look-over the ship. I feel it's a reminder of the Spanish Conquest and all the woe that it brought.

And so this morning after a relaxing few days I lay snugly in my tent not wanting to move or do anything: eventually though I made the effort and got out at 8.30. Nancy and John were leaving today too, but as usual we would be riding apart. I past them at eleven sat by the roadside resting, and they caught me up at lunch-time. The scenery today after a long climb away from San Julian, was nothing much to write about and I had a light crosswind all day. This evening I've reached the next town on Route 3, Piedra Buena, on the Santa Cruz river.

Pioneer wagon in San Julian.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The older architecture.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Replica of Magellan's ship.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wall art: San Julian.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0