I'm sad to be leaving..: Yet another day or two in Salta.. - Northbound from Argentina through Brazil - CycleBlaze

August 6, 2010

I'm sad to be leaving..: Yet another day or two in Salta..

Yes I know the start date was Thursday and it's now Friday afternoon and I'm still in Salta, but I promise to get to bed early tonight to be on the road tomorrow. Yesterday morning it was daylight when I came back to the hostel after a night out dancing with my friend so I'd no desire to face a day in the saddle. It was a farewell night and now I'm feeling sad to be leaving as it will be many months before I see my friend again. I woke-up after a few hours sound asleep in time to have lunch and it was a fine crisp winter afternoon so I decided on a bike-ride to La Caldera and back 54km. It's a popular run for local sport and racing cyclists so its often that we meet and wave. On the way out-off town there's a cyclelane which follows the autopista which you could just as well cycle on as the police don't seem to bother you even though there's the usual no-cycling signs. It's perhaps saver on the autopista anyway with its wide shoulder and bridges over intersections than the cyclelane which is discontinued at every roundabout intersection underneath, there the cyclist must cycle with the cars to the other side where the cyclelane begins again. The cyclelane finishs at a roundabout with a big armadillo scrupture in the middle. Thereafter its another few kilometre until the road crosses Rio Caldera from where it follows the river up the valley to it's namesake village. Lastnight was another late night. I was with people from the hostel to a pena which is a place where Argentinean folk music is played so I'm here yet another day just walking the streets taking photos The problem with Salta is it's such a nice place its hard to leave and if you get romantically involved it's even harder to leave. She doesn't know it yet, my friend thinks I've gone and so it will be a surprize when I turn-up later at her house with Flowers. Its the one thing I wanted to do yesterday but the flowerist was closed as it was late when I got back to town. So then there'll be nothing else to do but leave.

P.S My friend and I went for a drink to her favourite bar Barney Gomez on Cordoba street. There's nice comfortable sofers, soft romantic candle light and good music. We eat the usual tacos. She can never finish hers instead giving me the last bite marked bit. We talk to very late before I walk her home and for that reason I didn't get to bed particularly early.

Thursday afternoon on road like this.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And this.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The sun had already set when I got back to town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Myself in Balcarce street where all the bars are located.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0