Bikefix - Northbound from Argentina through Brazil - CycleBlaze

December 1, 2010

Bikefix

Time and again during my travels I've been asked do I have coins from my country, people seemingly like collecting coins. Norma, a waitress at the restaurant where I ate most days while in Colon asked me this question. I said I did but not on me, that I would bring them in the next time. The next time I hand her a 2p and a 10p (sterling) with the Queens head on them to exclamations from Norma of "que linda. La reina Elizabeth", I had made her day. Although having coins of many nations, these were her first English coins, a treasure to her.

As I had spent all day sat using the computer I didn't feel like sleeping that night. I lay awake for hours, a very long time as the last I was aware of were the birds singing before drifting off. I awoke knackered, at the usual time, not having slept more than an hour but made that first effort to resisted the feeling that I couldn't be assed and I'll lay here another while. No, I was quickly out off the tent and as I'd overlooked shopping yesterday evening I would not be having breakfast, instead packing up and setting off for the International bridge to Uruguay. There was after all a service station just before the bridge so I made use of the cafeteria to have coffee and cakes.

I cross the same bridge to Uruguay.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today I was reliving the 8th of September when I previously past over this bridge, but today was must warmer and I now was familiar with the aduana routine as both Argentine and Uruguayan customs people sit in the same drive past booth. I was the only person required to show a passport as all the others from neighbouring countries just show an id card. Passport stamped, I cycled the few Ks along the river to the city in a faction of the time I spend in September. Although scenic, I was familiar with it and didn't need to linger looking at it again.

By the riverbank on the way into town, at the free municipal camp-site, where I'd camped the last time, a man on a lawnmower said it wasn't possible to camp there as the water was turned off. I left thinking that I'll return after dark, but, I thought, that will mean me stuck with my stuff all day. Club Pescadores (the fishing club) is only 100m farther, they charge money to camp but it's only the equivalent of 4.5 Euro, a small price to leave my stuff there for the day.

With the tent up in the shade of trees and everything off the bike, I cycle to the bikeshop that replaced my bottom-bracket bearings in September but was disappointed to find the iron gate across the door and it padlocked. Closed today for some reason, not to worry, I cycle to the other bikeshop I saw in September. Closed too! Whats going on? It's only 11.40. Aah, Uruguay is one hour ahead. The staff were still inside having closed for lunch at 12.30 and a man seeing me outside opens up. I tell him what I need doing, a new cassette and chain together with a middle chain-ring which would slip, as it's worn, if used with a new chain. The fitting is a job which I could do myself but as bikeshops don't charge for such work it saves me carrying for example proper workshop alien keys, a light multi-tool suffices for tightening up lose screws.

I wheel the bike in and lean it by the counter. The man that let me in asks the main man about middle chain-rings for the Deore Hollowtech, he nods negatively and explains that there's only complete units in stock then tells me that I'll have all or nothing, a new chainset which will together with the other bits set me back 3000 pesos or 150 USD as they readily except dollars for big purchase in Uruguay. This is stupid but I need all the same a bike in good working order so I leave the bike with them and am told the work will be done ready in the evening for 7.30.

I return to a place were I had lunch in September which has wifi, but, what's wrong? I try three times to connect but receive the Windows pop-up, Windows was unsuccessful, and so. I try again and get the red cross and No connections are available, message. This became worrying as I tried later at various other establishments around town with the same result. My computer is malfunctioning, I think.

For lunch, I'd Tortille which consisted of potatoes and egg, the portion was too big to fit on the plate and it was hard to finish, washed down with a litre of beer, coupled with the lack of sleep and I was soon struggling to keep my eyes open. I put my hand up over my face as not to be seen. I had to stand up and go for a walk which wasn't easy as the heat out in the streets made me feel even heavier.

From the plaza in Paysandu as I wait for 7.30 when my bike will be ready at the bikeshop.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Later, as I write sat in the shade in the Plaza killing time waiting for 7.30 when I can collect the bike, I was thinking that the bikeshop were just motivated by selling a new chainset. Later still, I return to the bikeshop and find that isn't the case. The cost was 1000 pesos or 50 USD. The main man explained it wasn't necessary to replace the chain-ring as the wear occurs in the one place, the quarter under full stress on each pedal stroke. In simple words, he removed the ring, turned it a quarter and screwed it back on, so, the section of teeth which will take the stress of the pedal stroke hereafter is comparatively unworn.

Bike ready, the main man takes a picture.
Heart 0 Comment 0

One other little thing I bough in the bikeshop was barends as recently I've been experiencing sort hands towards the end of a long day using the same hand position all the time. Furthermore, lately my shoulder on the side of the broken collar-bone of a couple of years ago has felt sore and the arm a little numb, most plausibly due to riding with the same grip on the bars all day. So, picking up something for supper I return to the camping site to fit them, this job I can do with a multi-tool. Will barend make a differents? Only time will tell.

I mount the barends on the inside of the grips. This provides the same position as the hoods of road brakelevers on drop-handlebars and I can work both brakes and gears from either position.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 31 km (19 miles)
Total: 6,707 km (4,165 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0