Gathering the Staging Points: Where to Stay and Donate - Cuba off of the Map (Tours 10 & 11) - 2010 & 2011 🇨🇺 - CycleBlaze

March 23, 2010

Gathering the Staging Points: Where to Stay and Donate

I QUITE like to be organized when it comes to getting organized for a trip. True, there is something to be said for winging it and changing one's mind on a whim... the only thing is, on a bicycle, I am not to thrilled if I have to bike 75 km then find nowhere to stay and have to continue on another 25 km or risk sleeping in a ditch with the rats.

What's the issue? Here at home if you want somewhere to stay you call them up or e-mail them and they say either yes or no to your request for accommodations. In Cuba, I have to learn to relax and sway with the palm trees - and what happens ... well... just happens. I have been trying to book-end one of the longer days with two hotels - in Soroa and San Diego. To this point, I'm halfway there - but for the other there is not yet an answer.

The nice thing is that the key spots ARE booked so anywhere in between can, really, be met with a Casa Particular - not having tried one yet, I am quite anxious to experience what is touted as one of the best parts of Cuban hospitality... and FOOD! YUM!! (Any and all who followed me through my progress in 2003 from Istanbul to Lisbon will remember that food was a major major issue for me - you see, all of this cycling will allow me to have a decent breakfast, a lunch, another lunch, a huge dinner and snacks scattered in amongst the main meals!)

Finally getting to my point, I have pretty well settled on the main overnight points where I think the majority of the donating will be done. With more people around that means more people in need of the meds in the trailer.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0