Bike and BOB Trailer Additions: A few ideas gleaned from a few years of touring - Cuba off of the Map (Tours 10 & 11) - 2010 & 2011 🇨🇺 - CycleBlaze

April 1, 2010

Bike and BOB Trailer Additions: A few ideas gleaned from a few years of touring

As the title implies, here are pics of a few ideas that have been helpful and we have been asked about a few times.

An idea I had to add a little more space to the BOB. I just went to Canadian Tire to pick up an L-bracket and it is all as secure as can be. It also keeps longer loads from crushing the BOB's fender. MA laughs and says it looks silly.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another view - on the forward-facing vertical portion of the L-bracket I can mount another water-bottle bracket to give extra low water-carrying capacity without it bouncing around on the trailer.
Heart 0 Comment 0
To prevent the loss of the BOB's pins, I attached this small length of chain with tie-wraps. No loss of pins. Chains are out of the way. The thickness of the chains keeps the pins from falling off. Works beautifully.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A stand attached to the BOB can keep both the bike and the trailer upright when stopped. No chance of bending the rear of the bike and no worries of having to find somewhere to put the bike when I stop. Very convenient.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another look at the stand on the BOB.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view looking back at the handlebars of the bike. When I tour I can't stand wearing a watch. I strap my watch to the handlebar. When I stop I slip it back onto my wrist. No, I'm not a fan of using a cyclecomputer - too awkward on the wrist!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0