Day 7 - Crosswinds - CycleBlaze

September 14, 2019

Day 7

Last night, after completing yesterday's entry, I managed to do something to my tablet that prevents me from getting on line.  I may have a green thumb with plants, but with computers, I have a black thumb. So, until I can get that problem rectified, I will be using motel computers, where available, to update the journal.  So, if I miss a day, it is not because I am being held hostage by the NO WIFI Zone.

I did not bring my thumb drive for accessing the micro SD card out of my camera, so, there will be no images until my tablet gets fixed.  I did contact a "Geeks are Us" or something like that in Sedalia, where, once you are situated somewhere for 48 hours during regular business hours Monday thru Friday, you can make an appointment and they will send a technician to you to "unlock" your computer and makee-makee fixee-fixee all better.  That makes getting the tablet looked a a whole lot easier than taking a number and getting in line at a computer place.........if you can find one. 

The person I spoke with did not grasp why I could not say where I would be on Monday.  Cross country bicycle touring does not compute for computer geeks.   Kept telling me to call tomorrow to tell them where I will be on Monday.  After the fourth go-around, I finally got irritated and told him the only way I could do that was get a motel room on Sunday for two nights, then I could tell him for sure on Sunday (he did provide me a number to call on Sunday) where I would be on Monday.  He finally understood that.  Go Figure.  So, I shall see how that works out in the next couple of days.

Anyway, the rollers were a lot steeper and more frequent today.  Once again, it was cool and humid, so, I did not get in any rush to speed down the road.  Vest and Froggtoggs jacket were the order of the morning. I rolled out of Osawatomie at 7:30 am and started south on Hwy 7.  Followed it to Hwy 152 and then turned east. Once I got past La Cygne and went under the highway, I followed a county road to the border.  There were places where the road was level, but for the most part, it was rollers.  At one point on Hwy 152, I rode down a hill (coasting) and was reading 36 mph on the speedometer at the bottom.  Uphills were a lot slower.  Being Saturday, there was a lot more traffic on the road and not all the drivers were patient. 

There has been lots of rain in this area as well.  I saw a lot of very green corn fields here and there. That storm system that moved thru on Thursday did dump quite a bit of rain around here.  I also saw some corn that looked like it was past harvesting time.  

Once I got into Missouri, the county roads were not nearly as nice as those in Kansas.  There were some short stretches where the roads were gizzard rattlers, and others that were out and out bone shakers.  I got as far as Passaic and decided I had enough for one day.  I had completely run down one half of the main battery and had switched to my reserve to get from Passaic to Butler. Gravity still works and does take a toll on the batteries, both electrical and human. Turned south and 5 miles later I was in Butler where I got a motel room for the night.   The bike is settled in for the night and I have the batteries on the chargers. 

One other observation I have:  the mileage shown that I have traveled shows only over-the-road mileage and does not reflect my total mileage.  While I was in Emporia, I think I racked up 25 miles just running around town over the course of one evening and one day.  In Newton, I probably added 10 or 12 miles the evening I got there.  However, tonight the additional mileage will be ZERO.

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 396 miles (637 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0