Day 5 - Crosswinds - CycleBlaze

September 12, 2019

Day 5

Rain day

Riding from Newton to Emporia and then getting a room for two nights was a good idea.  The weather guessers suggested the rain would not show up until 3:30 pm today, but they forgot to send the memo to Mother Nature.  Once again, I went to bed early and slept in to make up for it.  The rain was on the horizon when I got up at 7:00 am. 

There is to be a giant "garage sale" on the main street in Emporia this weekend.  The main drag is blocked off for 9 blocks and is quite the event.  It also results in all the local motels filling up from all the folks coming in from out of town as both vendors and visitors.  My timing to miss that event and then not being able to find a motel room turned out well. Sometimes moving along to get ahead of the weather has its unexpected benefits.

There was a bit of a break in the rain around 11:00, so I rode back downtown and did a bit of looking around and got a late breakfast at a local cafe.  One of the more intersting buildings is the old Granada Theater.  It was originally built around 1900 and had all kinds of decorations seldom seen except on older buildings.  Restoration on it commenced sometime around 2001, and it is now used for special movie showings and other gatherings. The light was not really good enough to get an image of it.  

A couple miles east of town there is a place that sells Amish furniture, among other things.  I rode out there, and about the time I got there, it started raining for real, so, I rode my bike up under one of the non-Amish metal garage buildings they had for sale.  I  was there long enough for the rain to stop.  Most of the Amish wares were chairs, rockers, dining table suites and bookshelves.  There were even some sweep brooms there.  They also had a few items of furniture from non-Amish manufacturers as well as a selection of items for trailer repair. 

I rode back to my motel, and shortly after I got back, it started raining again, along with some lightning and thunder.  That sounded like nap time to me. After my nap, I rode back downtown to get a late lunch.  While there, it started raining again, so, I hid out at Eclectic Bikes until about 6:00 pm. There was a bit of a break in the rain, so I made the dash back to the motel.  The wet streets (some of which were brick) got me a grimed up bike, so, I spent some time wiping it down before rolling it inside.  I did manage to get one image today, the church across the street (while it was raining) from Eclectic Bikes.  Tomorrow, the weather guessers are saying 53 degrees at 7:00 am followed by a warm up to 81.  Sounds like I may be wearing my vest and Froggtoggs first thing tomorrow. I did not bring any gloves with me, cuz I figured I would not need them.  53 degrees is a bit cool for me to be riding around with bare hands.  Fortunately, Eclectic Bikes did have one very nice pair of gloves that fit me, which purchase will keep my hands warm in the morning.  

The church across the street from Eclectic Bikes.......and the rain.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 10 miles (16 km)
Total: 272 miles (438 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Kenneth KoehnI enjoy all the photos you post Paul. A picture is worth a thousand words. It's almost like riding with you. Good job. Ken
Reply to this comment
4 years ago