Day 18 - Crosswinds - CycleBlaze

September 25, 2019

Day 18

It was a pleasant ride from Hermann to Jefferson City today, because the sky was overcast.  I was not in any particular hurry, as I would not be able to get a room at the motel until after 3:00pm.  I made it back thru all the detours I had to make on the way out, including the one just past Portland, where the bluff fell down on the trail.  I rode up to the barricade to see if I could see anything, but no luck.  I turned around and backtracked a ways and found the turn I missed on the way out.  I also ran into a couple I had met in St. Charles who had flown in from somewhere and were fitted with bikes and shuttled to Clinton where they started east.  They were out in the rain all day Saturday.  What miserable riding.  I told them about the place I stayed in Hermann and then we went our separate ways. 

The trail was in decent shape due to the rain that fell over the weekend and a little that fell last night. The dust I collected today was mostly heavy stuff and very little of the fine, talcum powder-like stuff of last week. Today's ride covered the stretch I was on riding from Hartsburg to Hermann when I was eastbound.  Only difference is, most of the area I went thru on the way out was after noon time and it was warm. Since it was cool and humid this morning and I was in no particular rush, I was able to get a few images that I missed on the eastbound trip.  Saw lots of squirrels, a few frogs, one turtle and no toads today.  Encountered one group of SAG supported eastbound riders and a few independent riders. 

Once I got to the North Jefferson Trailhead, I was in new territory.  I followed the path to the pedestrian/cyclist "spiral", rode up that and crossed the Missouri using the pedestrian/cyclist path that was completely separated from the traffic on the bridge.  Getting to the motel was a bit of a challenge.  Lots of hills, not too much traffic and a whole lot of around Robin Hood's Barn type riding following the route displayed by Google Maps.  At one point, I was on a Greenway pedestrian/cyclist path and came to a place where the "sidewalk is closed" due to construction.  I walked out into the construction area, took a look and saw it was pushable-thruable......so that's what I did.  Had to cross about a 50 yard stretch of torn up grass, gravel and dirt clods.  Once on the other side of that mess, I continued on.  Ended up riding thru residential areas that included some significant climbs.  I had left the chain on the small chainring just for that purpose, which made the climbs a matter of "spinning" my way to the top.  About the only time I had difficulty with impatient motorists was when I was about a block from my motel, and I needed to turn left.  Seemed like all the motorists wanted to turn right to get on the freeway and did not want to let me over.  But I made it.   Have been in touch with the shuttle and have arranged for a ride around the still-damaged areas between here and Boonville.  

The tunnel under the highway and the old railroad bridge just to the west of McKittrick.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The signal block foundation seen to the right of the first image above.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old silo and new barn.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jewelweed. I had taken a picture of this flower last week, but did not know what I was looking at. Someone commented that it is jewelweed. Jewelweed is good for treating poison ivy/oak inflammations. You just break the stems and apply the juice to the poison ivy affected area.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the cuts along the way.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Where I stopped for a late lunch on my way east.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Holzhauser's Bar and Grill, in Portland, MO, one block off the Katy Trail.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The trailhead in Mo Kan E, MO.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The mile marker in Mokane.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This kind of erosion is what you constantly have to be watching for. It is not deep, but on a bicycle, it will rattle your gizzard.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The approach to the pedestrian/cyclist "spiral".
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I could just barely make the corners on my bike. After going about 3/4 of the way up, I got off and pushed the rest of the way. I was just tired enough I was making mistakes and it was safer to be off and pushing.
Heart 1 Comment 0
View looking back from the far side of the pedestrian/cyclist path.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 803 miles (1,292 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0