Day 15 Rest Day - Crosswinds - CycleBlaze

September 22, 2019

Day 15 Rest Day

This morning at breakfast, I met some folks who are staying here at the motel who are going to be heading westbound on the Katy Trail on Monday morning.  So, I filled them in on detours and rough spots to expect along the way.  Having been in that same position not too many days ago, I passed along what I had learned.  Since I am going to be returning on the same route going home, I will see all those detours (and shuttle rides) again.........but in reverse order of the first go-around. A bit later, I checked out the easiest way to get back on the Katy Trail without having to go thru Old Town and get my gizzard rattled before I even get to the Trail.  Once I found the entrance I was looking for (best parts: it is almost all downhill and is paved with concrete and asphalt!), I pedaled over to the east side of town towards Highway 370.  As to the rain that has fallen since I got here, the only effect it has had on the Katy Trail is to settle the dust, which is a good thing!

About the time I got to where the highway and the train track bridges cross the trail, I heard a train coming and got a couple of images.  After that, I wandered back  thru French Town, on the east side and got a few more images.  Coming back thru Old Town, the tourists were there in strength......even on Sunday.  Even the Bike Stop Cafe was open.  Tomorrow may be another story.   I have looked at the weather radar, and the rain is on the way.  The weather guessers are saying it will be here about 3:00 pm and should be cleared out by tomorrow morning.  I hope that means more dust gets settled.  I still have not gotten all the dust cleaned off my bike.  That is gonna have to wait until I get home.  With all the electronics on my bike, I hesitate to take a garden hose to the dust.  I will opt for a vacuum or compressed air.

The train tressle next to Highway 370.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some of the buildings in French Town. Notice the blinking stoplight, which appears in this and the next two images.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
An older house on a residential street up the hill from Old Town (Main Street). Quite a few of the buildings had the twin chimneys on them, even some of the modern buildings.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the older homes up the hill from Old Town. The lamps on each side of the gate are actually gas lights. I saw a couple of other homes with these, but the trees were so thick, it was difficult to do the homes any justice with an image.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A close up of the lamps at the gate.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A better close up of the gas lamp.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 10 miles (16 km)
Total: 685 miles (1,102 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0