The Reality - New England September Sojourn - CycleBlaze

The Reality

A few factors threw a monkey wrench into my plan. The hotels in Burlington are outrageously expensive, like Manhattan expensive. The main ferry across Lake Champlain was not running, a Covid victim I guess. The bicycle ferry north of Burlington runs only on weekends after Labor Day. One Lake Champlain ferry was running. The ferry north of Plattsburgh NY to Grand Isle, VT.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Scott AndersonI was shocked by the price of lodging in Burlington also. I was planning to route us through Burlington earlier this summer also but dropped it because I couldn’t justify the cost.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bob DistelbergI had plans this summer to do the 3 ferry loop as well. I had envisioned a casual ride with overnight stays in both Burlington and Plattsburgh. I was similarly derailed by the Burlington-Port Kent ferry not running as well as the insanely expensive hotels in Burlington. I ended up staying one night in St. Albans instead, 15 miles away and $100 cheaper, and spending two glorious days riding around the islands.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
John PescatoreTo Scott AndersonMy daughter and son in law had a wedding to go to in Burlington and bribed my wife and I to go along to babysit our 9 month old grandson during the wedding. The bribery: she had gotten a reasonably priced AirBnB - three bedroom house within walking distance of downtown for less that the going rate at the downtown hotels.

In past tripe, I found the motels in South Burlington were much more reasonable.

I had planned a two ferry loop - the Charlotte/Essex ferry was running, we did it in the car on the way up. But that main Burlington to Plattsburgh one was not. But the Bike Ferry was running - had a very nice ride up to South Hero and back.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago